Remote Database Access
Remote access to the online databases is only available to current DYC students, faculty, and staff. DYC Alumni and DaVinci students are not eligible for remote access based on licensing restrictions of the database vendors.
All registered students need to use their DYCnet username and password to access the databases. Your user name is assigned to you at the start of your first semester and is the same username/password that you use to login to your DYC email account and/or the computers on campus. The format of your username is most likely to be your last name and first initial, preceded by the last digit of the year you first attended the college (ie. 3lastf) up to a maximum of 8 characters.
For username/password info, call the Help Desk at (716) 829-8282 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Note: Do not mention that you are having problems with the library databases when you ask for your login information. Please tell them that you are having problems with your DYCnet username and/or password.
How can you verify your registration? Go to the Off-campus Login page and enter your DYCnet username and password. If you are taken to the database overview page, you are registered
If you have verified your DYCnet username and password with Academic Computing and are still having problems, please contact the Systems Librarian at (716) 829-8116. On voicemail, leave your name and phone and brief summary of your problem.
Common Access Problems
Recommended browsers include Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox. Many patrons have found that problems with one browser are not present with another browser. Make sure that you are using a current or recent version of the browser software.
Check Your Browser Settings
- Cookies: Is your browser set to accept cookies? Your Internet browser should be set to accept cookies. Check your browser's Help file for instructions on cookie settings.
- Popup Blocker Settings: If you are using a browser or firewall that blocks popups, you will need to change the settings of the browser or firewall to allow popups either temporarily, for a particular site, or for the duration of your session.
- Proxy Settings: If you have your browser set for a specific proxy server, you may need to change your browser settings to automatically detect proxy settings. When using Internet Explorer, go to Tools > Internet Options > Connections > LAN settings, choose Automatically Detect Settings, click OK, then close and re-open Internet Explorer.
Clear the Browser Cookies
After your first attempt to login, you will need to clear the cookies in your browser before attempting to login again. For example, in Internet Explorer go to Tools > Internet Options and click the Delete Cookies button.
Disable Download Managers
All download managers or download accelerators should be turned off or disabled when connecting to the online databases. These services see the "webauth.exe" that is part of the authentication URL as an executable that must be downloaded first before you can access the site and this is not the case. Examples of such services that should be disabled or turned off include: Speed Bit (speedbit.com, download accelerator), GetRight (GetRight.com), Netscape's Smartdownload and GetBot (getbot.com, download manager). Software such as RealDownload or ad-blocking software can also interfere with Remote Access.
If you are still having problems accessing the online databases, please contact the Reference Librarian at (716) 829-7747 during library hours.
Digital Services Librarian
Phone: (716) 829-8116