Pharmacy

The following databases are great starting places for finding pharmacy related journal articles, drug data and other information. Please note that you will be required to login to these resources if you are off campus.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.

Academic Search Complete

This general content database contains both full-text and citations to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas.

AMED (Alternative Medicine)

Database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians regarding alternative medicine including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. AMED contains records from over 500 journals with coverage being mainly European and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

AltHealth Watch

Database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international journals, consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts with regards to contemporary as well as alternative medicine.

Annual Reviews

Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Bibliographic and Full Text for approximately 800,000 records including nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Full text is included for several state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

Clinical Pharmacology

Clinical Pharmacology provides a single resource to answer all your medication questions, empowering you to maximize your time and productivity. The content is updated ?live? to include newly released drug products and breaking developments. Clinical Pharmacology is accepted by all 50 state Boards of Pharmacy as a compendium to fulfill the drug reference requirements for licensed pharmacies, and is officially recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as a drug compendium for determining the appropriate use of drugs and biologics for cancer patients

Digital Dissertations

Available through ProQuest, this database includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. Abstracts free online. First 24 pages may be viewed and printed free as well. Search may be limited by a number of factors. You may order a full-text copy of any dissertation through Interlibrary Loan. See a librarian at the research desk for more information.

Embase

With over 24 million indexed records and more than 7,600 currently indexed peer-reviewed journals, Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Embases unique and comprehensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates including Articles in Press, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.

Evidence Based Medicine Databases

See our Evidence Based Medicine category to see a complete list of resources for this type of information. This list includes the various Cochrane databases.

Facts and Comparisons

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers offers online access to up-to-date drug information to help enable better therapeutic decisions in less time. Backed by more than 60 years of editorial expertise, you can be assured of unbiased, reliable content from the publishers of the definitive industry reference, Drug Facts and Comparisons®.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Covers approximately 550 scholarly full text journals as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Multiple medical disciplines are covered with strong nursing and allied health. Full text information in this database dates back to 1975. This database also includes Clinical Pharmacology Database as well.

Lexi-Comp

Lexi-Comp develops superior drug information to support medication safety. Its comprehensive content provides clear, concise, and accurate information which is updated daily by their in-house clinical staff. The database includes: Dosing by route, population, indication; Renal/hepatic impairment adjustments; Special FDA Alerts/Black Box Warnings; Drug Interaction Analysis; Clinical pearls addressing anesthesia, cardiology, critical care, oncology, mental health and more.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) provide a comprehensive collection of information on drug use and development, from the clinical, practical, and theoretical to the economic and scientific aspects of the literature. IPA allows researchers to keep current on today's health related drug literature.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Medline (Ovid)

Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

Micromedex

Evidence based information from Micromedex, including all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. Our subscription includes access to the Martindale and Neofax/Peds drug information resources.

Natural Standard

Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

PharmacyLibrary

PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) is leading the next generation of online pharmacy resources. PharmacyLibrary features content from a selection of APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.

Primal Pictures

Primal Pictures was created to serve as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. It is derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.

Proquest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 11,250 titles with over 8,400 titles in full text. It includes resources from over 160 different subject areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

PsycNET

PsycNET® is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and full text from scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This resource is a combination of two major psychology databases - PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

R2

R2 is a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform. This service is available exclusively through hospital, academic, and institutional libraries.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Edition, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,000 journals from Elsevier are available on ScienceDirect. Users can access full-text articles as well as abstract records. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued. Additionally, they gain online access to multimedia features not available in print journals, such as video, audio and spreadsheet files.

SPORTDiscus

Covers sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. Full text and bibliographic references for approximately 700,000 items in areas including sports medicine, physical education, coaching and training, arts and history, corporate wellness, engineering and health and safety.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed information resource available via the Web and mobile devices. With UpToDate, you can answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge and improve patient care. Independent studies confirm these benefits.

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Westlaw

Comprehensive legal content, including primary law, legal analysis, and litigation materials. Also includes a large number of business resources to search for news, company records and SEC filings. Search legal materials via citation, keyword or using the Westlaw Keycite system.

TOP

Back To Top
©