Exercise and Sports Studies

The following databases are great starting places for finding exercise and sports studies related journal articles and other information. Please note that you will be required to login to these resources if you are off campus.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.

Academic Search Complete

This general content database contains both full-text and citations to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas.

AMED (Alternative Medicine)

Database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians regarding alternative medicine including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. AMED contains records from over 500 journals with coverage being mainly European and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

AltHealth Watch

Database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international journals, consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts with regards to contemporary as well as alternative medicine.

Evidence Based Medicine Databases

See our Evidence Based Medicine category to see a complete list of resources for this type of information. This list includes the various Cochrane databases.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Bibliographic and Full Text for approximately 800,000 records including nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Full text is included for several state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Consumer-health database providing information on health related issues. Health topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Available full text for approximately 190 journals, as well as abstracts for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications including 1,190 health-related pamphlets. In addition, Stedman's Medical Dictionary provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Covers approximately 550 scholarly full text journals as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Multiple medical disciplines are covered with strong nursing and allied health. Full text information in this database dates back to 1975. This database also includes Clinical Pharmacology Database as well.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

PsycNET

PsycNET® is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and full text from scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This resource is a combination of two major psychology databases - PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

R2

R2 is a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform. This service is available exclusively through hospital, academic, and institutional libraries.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Edition, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,000 journals from Elsevier are available on ScienceDirect. Users can access full-text articles as well as abstract records. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued. Additionally, they gain online access to multimedia features not available in print journals, such as video, audio and spreadsheet files.

SPORTDiscus

Covers sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. Full text and bibliographic references for approximately 700,000 items in areas including sports medicine, physical education, coaching and training, arts and history, corporate wellness, engineering and health and safety.

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

TOP
Back To Top
©