Education
The following databases are great starting places for finding education related journal articles and other information. Please note that you will be required to login to these resources if you are off campus.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Academic Search Complete
This general content database contains both full-text and citations to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas.
Curriculum Resource Center
Gives teachers fast access to thousands of easily reproduced handouts to supplement text and lesson plans used in middle school, high school, and junior college classrooms. Making Facts On File's broad range of authoritative, curriculum-supporting loose-leaf binder reference materials available in a user-friendly electronic format, this expansive collection of maps, full-color diagrams, images, experiments, timelines, and other visual educational resources is conveniently arranged by subject (e.g. history, government, religion, geography, science, math, and health and fitness). Each handout can be saved, emailed, printed, or distributed for educational purposes.
Digital Dissertations
Available through ProQuest, this database includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. Abstracts free online. First 24 pages may be viewed and printed free as well. Search may be limited by a number of factors. You may order a full-text copy of any dissertation through Interlibrary Loan. See a librarian at the research desk for more information.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Research Complete
Education research database covering topics from early childhood to higher education, and all specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, curriculum instruction, and administration.
ERIC
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains educational articles and documents pertaining to all facets of education. The database contains a wide collection of scholarly and/or peer reviewed journals. Contains ERIC Journals (EJ) that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed. Also contains ERIC Documents (ED), though not peer-reviewed, are an excellent resource for all educators as they contain research and presentations from conferences and white papers related to education. Contains citations and full-text.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive that supports scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycNET
PsycNET® is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and full text from scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This resource is a combination of two major psychology databases - PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.
Primary Search
Provides full text for approximately 70 popular, elementary school magazines as well as indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin.
Professional Development Collection
Education database provides full text access to approximately 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 700 journals.
Proquest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 11,250 titles with over 8,400 titles in full text. It includes resources from over 160 different subject areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
PsycARTICLES
Contains full text, peer-reviewed articles from 60 psychology journals. Forty-nine titles, published by the American Psychological Association, are full text from volume one to the present.
Searchasaurus
Database includes Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction for elementary as well as middle school students. Using dinosaur guide and compass Searchasaurus uses an animated interface that encourages young researchers to develop basic search skills.
Teaching Books
TeachingBooks.net is an award-winning educational portal that helps teachers and librarians integrate multimedia resources that support trade books across the curriculum. Founded on the premise that educators find enjoyment and professional value in seeing and hearing authors talk about their work, TeachingBooks guides faculty, staff and students to better understand the spirit and personality behind books and to discover exciting ways to bring books to life within the school and library environments.
Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.