Evidence Based Medicine
The following databases are great starting places for finding evidence based medicine related journal articles and other information. Please note that you will be required to login to these resources if you are off campus.
Cochrane Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews methodology, results and conclusions.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Cochrane Health Technology Assessments database provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations. Included are more than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records.
Cochrane NHS Economic Evaluation Database assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. This database is updated quarterly.
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Bibliographic and Full Text for approximately 800,000 records including nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Full text is included for several state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
This database contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
The Turning Research Into Practice(TRIP) database uses the principles of evidence based medicine to quickly find current information on the web to answer clinical questions.
Search All Subjects
Databases By Subject Area
- Alternative Medicine
- Current Events & Newspapers
- Educational Leadership
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Exercise & Sports Studies
- General Information
- Health Education
- Health Policy
- Health Services Administration
- International Business
- Occupational Therapy
- Physical Therapy
- Physician Assistant
Phone: (716) 829-7747
Text: refdesk to 66746