Databases A - Z

This is a complete list of databases available through the Montante Family Library.

ABI/Inform Business

Comprehensive collection of business databases (ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry) providing users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry. Includes hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.

Academic Search Complete

This general content database contains both full-text and citations to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas.

AltHealth Watch

Database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international journals, consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts with regards to contemporary as well as alternative medicine.

TOP

AMED (Alternative Medicine)

Database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians regarding alternative medicine including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care. AMED contains records from over 500 journals with coverage being mainly European and is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.

American National Biography

Biographical database including in-depth biographies and photos of more than 17,000 famous Americans from all eras - from politicians and activists to poets and architects. Includes summaries of key eras and events throughout American history. Biographies include cross-referencing and bibliographies for further research.

Annual Reviews

Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

This e-book will show you how to format your citations for a wide variety of electronic resources including web pages, data sets, audio visual files and more. (Please note: You will need to login to Moodle to view this resource).

Black Newspapers

A collection of significant Black newspapers from the United States. Coverage includes major urban news sources such as the New York Amsterdam News, Los Angeles Sentinel and the Chicago Defender.

Britannica Original Sources

Original Sources is a collection of more than 350,000 documents, complete books, and authentic images. It provides  instant access to a virtual library of the creations and discoveries of history's greatest minds, as recorded in the authors' original words. The library divides the original sources into eight major collections: World History, U.S. History, Science and Mathematics, Social Science, Literature, Political Science and Law, Language, and Philosophy and Religion.

TOP

Business Insights: Essentials

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world with extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection. It includes easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

Business Source Premier

This extensive business database offering analysis, overviews and news about companies, and industries. Among its features are SWOT analyses, market research reports, as well as company and industry profiles. The content is largely U.S., but is detailed and provides easy access to information from all walks. One click limits search results by type and allows the user to quickly get to pertinent information. Largely full-text.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature Bibliographic and Full Text for approximately 800,000 records including nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Full text is included for several state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.

TOP

Clinical Pharmacology

Clinical Pharmacology provides a single resource to answer all your medication questions, empowering you to maximize your time and productivity. The content is updated ?live? to include newly released drug products and breaking developments. Clinical Pharmacology is accepted by all 50 state Boards of Pharmacy as a compendium to fulfill the drug reference requirements for licensed pharmacies, and is officially recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as a drug compendium for determining the appropriate use of drugs and biologics for cancer patients

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. This database is updated quarterly.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Cochrane Health Technology Assessments

Cochrane Health Technology Assessments database provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations. Included are more than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records.

TOP

Cochrane Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects

Cochrane Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews methodology, results and conclusions.

Cochrane NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Cochrane NHS Economic Evaluation Database assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Combines the content of CommSearch, Mass Media Articles Index and hundreds of communication-related journals to offer a complete database for all facets of communication. Database offers some excellent tools, including the ability to search citations and most often cited works. Also contains searchable profiles of the 3,000 most cited authors. Citations and full-text.

CountryWatch

Premier database for regionalized information. CountryWatch contains country profiles, news and myriad statistics on countries across the globe. Countries large and small are represented by country profiles, detailed statistics, trade information, census data and the most recent year's news.

Credo Reference

Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.

TOP

Curriculum Resource Center

Gives teachers fast access to thousands of easily reproduced handouts to supplement text and lesson plans used in middle school, high school, and junior college classrooms. Making Facts On File's broad range of authoritative, curriculum-supporting loose-leaf binder reference materials available in a user-friendly electronic format, this expansive collection of maps, full-color diagrams, images, experiments, timelines, and other visual educational resources is conveniently arranged by subject (e.g. history, government, religion, geography, science, math, and health and fitness). Each handout can be saved, emailed, printed, or distributed for educational purposes.

Digital Dissertations

Available through ProQuest, this database includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. Abstracts free online. First 24 pages may be viewed and printed free as well. Search may be limited by a number of factors. You may order a full-text copy of any dissertation through Interlibrary Loan. See a librarian at the research desk for more information.

Education Research Complete

Education research database covering topics from early childhood to higher education, and all specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, curriculum instruction, and administration.

TOP

Embase

With over 24 million indexed records and more than 7,600 currently indexed peer-reviewed journals, Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Embase's unique and comprehensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates including Articles in Press, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Electronic edition contains standard encyclopedia fare, but adds a wealth of useful tools and resources. In addition to the basic entries, this version offers country snapshots, an atlas, interactive history timelines and video content that can be browsed by subject. Offers useful learning content and satisfies basic research for all users.

ERIC

Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains educational articles and documents pertaining to all facets of education. The database contains a wide collection of scholarly and/or peer reviewed journals. Contains ERIC Journals (EJ) that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed. Also contains ERIC Documents (ED), though not peer-reviewed, are an excellent resource for all educators as they contain research and presentations from conferences and white papers related to education. Contains citations and full-text.

Facts and Comparisons

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers offers online access to up-to-date drug information to help enable better therapeutic decisions in less time. Backed by more than 60 years of editorial expertise, you can be assured of unbiased, reliable content from the publishers of the definitive industry reference, Drug Facts and Comparisons®.

Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

TOP

General OneFile

Gale's largest general interest periodical resource, General OneFile, provides periodical and news information through an intuitive, user-friendly search interface for researchers at all levels. Content includes more than 12,000 titles in all with nearly 30 years of coverage. In addition to thousands of refereed journals, this database incorporates over 500 Fodor travel guides and the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

HAPI

Provides information about behavioral measurement instruments. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.

Health Reference Center Academic

This database integrates millions of articles from a wide range of nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, full text reference works, and hundreds of health-related multimedia presentations, including demonstrations of medical procedures and live surgeries.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Consumer-health database providing information on health related issues. Health topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Available full text for approximately 190 journals, as well as abstracts for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications including 1,190 health-related pamphlets. In addition, Stedman's Medical Dictionary provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine.

TOP

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Covers approximately 550 scholarly full text journals as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Multiple medical disciplines are covered with strong nursing and allied health. Full text information in this database dates back to 1975. This database also includes Clinical Pharmacology Database as well.

Humanities International Index

Provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes more than 2,000 titles and contains some full-text.

IMAIOS E-Anatomy

IMAIOS is an online atlas of human anatomy for physicians, radiologists, medical students and radiographers. This site contains medical images of the whole human body in CT/MRI, etc, with labeling in various languages including English and Chinese. It is very useful for self-learning.

TOP

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Provides citations only for peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers. ICL is indexed by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON), health sciences librarians from chiropractic colleges throughout the world. Subject terms are taken from CLIBCON's thesaurus (ChiroSH, or Chiropractic Subject Headings) and from the U.S. National Library of Medicine's MeSH(Medical Subject Headings).

Infotrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand is a Web-based full-text newspaper database containing nearly over 99 million full text articles published from 1980 to the present.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) provide a comprehensive collection of information on drug use and development, from the clinical, practical, and theoretical to the economic and scientific aspects of the literature. IPA allows researchers to keep current on today's health related drug literature.

Journals@Ovid

Nursing, Life & Behavioral Sciences. Journals@Ovid has some full-text. YourJournals@Ovid is ALL full-text.

JSTOR

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive that supports scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

TOP

Lexi-Comp

Lexi-Comp develops superior drug information to support medication safety. Its comprehensive content provides clear, concise, and accurate information which is updated daily by their in-house clinical staff. The database includes: Dosing by route, population, indication; Renal/hepatic impairment adjustments; Special FDA Alerts/Black Box Warnings; Drug Interaction Analysis; Clinical pearls addressing anesthesia, cardiology, critical care, oncology, mental health and more.

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe

Database primarily used for legal information, business research and current news and events. Contains the full-text of Federal and State codes, laws, court cases and regulations. Use to search for information on company executives, industry, public and private company information from sources such as S&P, Hoover's and the SEC. Also contains full-text news articles from major newspapers and trade journals.

Literature Criticism Online

A compilation of literary commentary from decades of analysis over all eras, accessible through one interface. The library subscribes to the Poetry, Drama, and Short Story Criticism sets online.

Literature Resource Center

This comprehensive database provides literary criticism, author biographies, bibliographies as well as further readings and resources for historic through contemporary works. Includes MLA International Bibliography. Also included are linked timelines that cover an author's lifespan, creating easy access to information about world events that may have influenced the author's work.

TOP

Marketline

Marketline is a premier international business database offering Datamonitor reports on more than 10,000 companies, 2,000 industries and 50 countries. Reports contain information about the overall business environment, political and economic conditions worldwide.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Database designed specifically for high school libraries contains full text for approximately 700 popular, high school magazines, 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. In addition this database includes 50 reference books including the Columbia Encyclopedia, CIA World Fact Book , World Almanac & Book of Facts and the Our States reference book series.

MathSciNet

Database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

TOP

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Micromedex

Evidence based information from Micromedex, including all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. Our subscription includes access to the Martindale and Neofax/Peds drug information resources.

Military & Government Collection

Military & Government collection provides access to more than 300 journals and periodicals. Find the most recent news about military actions in the U.S. or abroad or look into the inside of military life through trade/branch journals. Mostly full-text.

MLA International Bibliography

This comprehensive database indexes and offers a glimpse into the content of more than 66,000 books and articles. Searches lead to citations relevant to topics in literature, modern language and linguistics. The Directory of Periodicals provides detailed profiles of more than 5,000 periodicals offering information about the publication its frequency, location, statistics and scope.

TOP

National Newspaper Index

This database provides a comprehensive index to the elite publications in the U.S. This complete index, which began coverage circa 1977 covers the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, New Times, Wall Street Journal as well as the NYT Book Review and Magazine.

NBER Working Papers

The National Bureau of Economic Research is the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. The Working Papers collection makes available online several thousand papers produced by NBER researchers in 15 subject areas from 1973 to the present.

Natural Standard

Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

New York State Newspapers

New York State Newspapers offers users the ability to quickly search an expanded "local" area - from Albany to Buffalo, Watertown to Binghamton, and many stops in between. The database contains content from dozens of newspapers across the state, allowing users to tailor searches and review specific results for news and events specific to New York State. Mostly full-text.

TOP

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Nursing Resource Center

Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.

Nutrition Care Manual

Available on-campus only. The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It is the preeminent source of research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians and other health care professionals.

TOP

Opposing Viewpoints

This database, which develops research skills and promotes issue awareness, information literacy and critical thinking, will support the new Common Core Curriculum Standards adopted by New York State. It contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Students at all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: news, primary sources and more.

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Online version of the premier dictionary of the English language. Comprehensive dictionary with complete etymology for each entry. This is a must for those researching word origins.

PharmacyLibrary

PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) is leading the next generation of online pharmacy resources. PharmacyLibrary features content from a selection of APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index?, produced by the Philosophers Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including over 620 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.

Primal Pictures

Primal Pictures was created to serve as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. It is derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.

TOP

Professional Development Collection

Education database provides full text access to approximately 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 700 journals.

Proquest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 11,250 titles with over 8,400 titles in full text. It includes resources from over 160 different subject areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Proquest Newspapers

ProQuest National Newspapers Premier includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. such as the South Florida Sun Sentinel, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Denver Post, The Sacramento Bee plus other important U.S. papers.

TOP

PsycNET

PsycNET® is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and full text from scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This resource is a combination of two major psychology databases - PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

R2

R2 is a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform. This service is available exclusively through hospital, academic, and institutional libraries.

TOP

Regional Business News

This database contains more than 75 of the top regional business newspapers, news magazines and newswires from both metropolitan and rural regions across the U.S. Mostly full-text.

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online is a collection of full-text information technology reference books from the top IT publishers.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Edition, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,000 journals from Elsevier are available on ScienceDirect. Users can access full-text articles as well as abstract records. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued. Additionally, they gain online access to multimedia features not available in print journals, such as video, audio and spreadsheet files.

TOP

Scirus

Covers energy, science, and technology research and development Department of Engineering research results are available to scientists, researchers, and engineers

Searchasaurus

Database includes Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction for elementary as well as middle school students. Using dinosaur guide and compass Searchasaurus uses an animated interface that encourages young researchers to develop basic search skills.

SPORTDiscus

Covers sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. Full text and bibliographic references for approximately 700,000 items in areas including sports medicine, physical education, coaching and training, arts and history, corporate wellness, engineering and health and safety.

TOP

Teaching Books

TeachingBooks.net is an award-winning educational portal that helps teachers and librarians integrate multimedia resources that support trade books across the curriculum. Founded on the premise that educators find enjoyment and professional value in seeing and hearing authors talk about their work, TeachingBooks guides faculty, staff and students to better understand the spirit and personality behind books and to discover exciting ways to bring books to life within the school and library environments.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed information resource available via the Web and mobile devices. With UpToDate, you can answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge and improve patient care. Independent studies confirm these benefits.

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

TOP

Westlaw

Comprehensive legal content, including primary law, legal analysis, and litigation materials. Also includes a large number of business resources to search for news, company records and SEC filings. Search legal materials via citation, keyword or using the Westlaw Keycite system.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. The collection currently includes 105 document projects and archives and more 53,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written altogether by about 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Women and Social Movements, International

Women and Social Movements, International, 1840- Present is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

YourJournals@Ovid

Subset of Journals@Ovid database containing only full text articles.

TOP

Back To Top
©