Sociology Subject Guide
| Dictionaries | Encyclopedias |
| Handbooks | Journal Articles |
| Professional Associations | |
| Social Theory | Sociology and Education |
| Sociology and Religion | Sociolinguisitcs |
| Statistics |
Dictionaries
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology – Credo Reference
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology – Credo Reference
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference
Collins Dictionary of Sociology – Credo Reference
A Dictionary of Sociology – Library Reference Collection
The Max Weber Dictionary: Key Words and Central Concepts – Library Reference Collection
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology – Credo Reference
Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology – Library Reference Collection
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia – Credo Reference
Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia – Library Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology – Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Social Theory – Library Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs – Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends – Credo Reference
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law – Credo Reference
Handbooks
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences – Credo Reference
Handbook of Environmental Sociology – Credo Reference
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Sociology Databases lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of sociology.
Professional Associations
American Sociological Association (ASA) ASA is a non-profit membership association dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. This website provides information on meetings, professional development, careers, forums, advocacy and more.
Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS) The purpose of the AACS is to promote the application of sociological knowledge for beneficial social change; to enhance the understanding of the interrelationship between sociological knowledge and sociological practice; to advance sociological knowledge, theory, research, methods, and training and to promote the use of applied and clinical sociology.
The Canadian Sociological Association (CSAA) By keeping informed about issues facing sociologists everywhere, and providing a voice for sociologistsin Canada, CSAA is a professional non-profit association that promotes research, publication and teaching of sociology, in particular in Canadian society, within a global context.
International Sociological Association (ISA) The ISA is a non-profit association for scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences. The goal of the ISA is to represent sociologists everywhere, regardless of their school of thought, scientific approaches or ideological opinion, and to advance sociological knowledge throughout the world.
The New York State Sociological Association (NYSSA) NYSSA is dedicated to providing a space for sociologists, and those interested in sociology, to present their work and exchange ideas. Members include social workers, instructors in the fields of sociology, social work, criminal justice, anthropology, and women's studies as well as graduate and undergraduate scholars in these fields.
Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP) SSSP is made up of an interdisciplinary community of scholars, practitioners, advocates, and students interested in the application of critical, scientific, and humanistic perspectives to the study of vital social problems. The SSSP promotes research on and serious examination of problems of social life and works to solve these problems and to develop informed social policy.
Research and Methodology
InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing - Library Circulating Collection
Max Weber's Methodologies: Interpretation and Critique - Library Circulating Collection
The Sociologically Examined Life: Pieces of the Conversation - Library Circulating Collection
Social Theory
The Basics of Sociology – Library Circulating Collection
Thinking the Unthinkable: the Riddles of Classical Social Theories - Library Circulating Collection
Social Theory: a Historical Introduction - Library Circulating Collection
Sociology and Education
Late to Class: Social Class and Schooling in the New Economy - Library Circulating Collection
Learning Identity: the Joint Emergence of Social Identification and Academic Learning - Library Circulating Collection
Sociology and Religion
Religion in Society: A Sociology of Religion – Library Circulating Collection
The Sociology of Religion – Library Circulating Collection
Sociolinguistics
Language and Cultural Diversity in U.S. Schools: Democratic Principles in Action – Library Circulating Collection
Language and Minority Rights: Ethnicity, Nationalism and the Politics of Language - Library Circulating Collection
Social Linguistics and Literacies: Ideology in Discourses – Library Circulating Collection
Statistics
Facts, Figures and Statistics from New York State This single point of access to information services provided by New York State Government agencies, the State Legislature and the Judiciary is provided by the New York State Government Information Locator Service (NYS GILS). The GILS site is hosted by the New York State Library.
Sources for New York State Statistics From Colombia University’s Lehman Social Sciences Library, this guide offers a large selection of tools used to locate statistics exclusively about New York State and New York City. Access to some content is restricted to current Columbia faculty, staff and students only.
Statistical Resources on the Web: Sociology This comprehensive listing of links to sociology-related statistics information from “abortion” to “world-village” is provided by the University of Michigan Library’s Documents Center.
Statistics Canada As Canada’s central statistical agency, Statistics Canada is the department of the Canadian federal government commissioned with producing statistics to help better understand Canada, its population, resources, economy, society, and culture.
The U.S. Census Bureau Committed to providing the best mix of timeliness, relevancy, and quality for the data they collect and the services they provide, the U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the United States' people and economy.

