Physical Therapy Subject Guide
Anatomy and Kinesiology
Atlas of the Human Body This visual aid, from the American Medical Association’s Patient Education Resources page, provides anatomy and medical illustrations for the human body.
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy – Library Circulating QP303 .L53 2006
Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice – Library Reference QM23.2 .G73 2005 (also available online )
Kinesiology: the Skeletal System and Muscle Function – Library Circulating QP303 .M87 2006
Manual of Structural Kinesiology – Library Circulating QP303 .T58 2007
Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy Primary Picture’s anatomy visuals are accompanied by complete and medically accurate 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.
Assessment and Diagnostics
Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: Screening for Referral – Library Circulating RM701 .G658 2007
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Library Reference RC55 .M4 (also available online)
Neuromusculoskeletal Examination and Assessment: a Handbook for Therapists – Library Circulating RC925.7 .P48 2006
Orthopaedic Clinical Examination: an Evidence-Based Approach for Physical Therapists Library Reference RD736.P47 C45 2005
Principles of Assessment and Outcome Measurement for Occupational Therapists and Physiotherapists: Theory, Skills and Application – Library Circulating RM701 .F39 2007
Career Guides
Physical Therapy Professional Foundations: Keys to Success in School and Career – Library Circulating RM705 .C87 2002
Physical Therapy Professional Foundations: Keys to Success in School and Career – Library Circulating Collection RM713 .P44 2006
Professionalism in Physical Therapy: History, Practice, & Development – Library Circulating Collection RM705 .S94 2005
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook (2008-09 Edition) Features descriptions and summary information on careers in physical therapy, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.
Certification and Licensure
The Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators As the national federation of provincial physiotherapy regulators committed to the development and improvement of regulatory standards of practice for physiotherapists, the Alliance provides information on the Canadian physiotherapy credentialing process and requirements.
The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy develops and administers the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for both physical therapists and physical therapist assistants in 53 jurisdictions – the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
The New York State Education Department NYSED’s Office of the Professions provides physical therapy information specific to New York State including licensure requirements, registered licensee statistics, and more.
Dictionaries
Oxford Medical Reference Collection This resource allows searching of the following titles either separately or collectively:
- The Oxford Companion to the Body
- A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
- Concise Medical Dictionary
- An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs
- The Oxford Companion to Medicine
- A Dictionary of Psychology
- A Dictionary of Public Health
- The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and National Institutes of Health (NIH), the MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary provides easy access to medical journal articles, extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Melloni's Illustrated Dictionary of the Musculoskeletal System – Library Reference QM100 .M44 1998
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy – Library Reference RM 696.5 .Q53 2003
Encyclopedias
The Encyclopedia of the Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders – Library Reference RC925.5 .S29 2005
Handbooks and Manuals
Practical Manual of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation – Library Reference RM701 .T36 2006
R2 Online Library An online service providing access to health science book contents with over 80 titles to chose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields.
The Rehabilitation Specialist’s Handbook – Library Reference RM735.3 .R68 2005 (also available online)
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Physical Therapy Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field ofphysical therapy.
Professional Organizations
American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) APTA is a national professional organization representing more than 63,000 members. Its goal is to foster advancements in physical therapy practice, research, and education.
Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA) CPA is a voluntary organization representing 10,000 members and students across the country. CPA provides leadership and direction to the physiotherapy profession, fosters excellence in practice, education and research and promotes high standards of health in Canada.
New York Physical Therapy Association (NYPTA) NYPTA is a professional, non-profit association made up of Physical Therapists (PTs), Physical Therapist Assistants (PTAs) and PT/PTA students. The NYPTA is dedicated to serving the public's health interests, improving the standard of health for people of all ages and advancing the benefits of physical therapy and the interests of physical therapy professionals in state of New York.
Ontario Physiotherapy Association (OPA) Committed to leadership in physiotherapy through the provision of advocacy, professional development and career support services for its members, OPA is a professional association of more than 4,400 physiotherapists, students, and associate members throughout Ontario.
Writing in APA
Citation and Style Guides - From the library's Online Reference Tools Section

