Psychology Subject Guide
| Assessment | Journal Articles |
| Career Guides | Professional Organizations |
| Certification and Licensure | Reference Handbooks |
| Dictionaries | Research Methods |
| Encyclopedias | Writing in APA |
Assessment
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment – Library Reference BF 176 .C654 2004
Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children: Personality, Behavior, and Context – Library Circulating BF722 .H33 2003
Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Case Conceptualization, and Treatment – Library Circulating RC454 .H352 2008
Career Guides
Life as a Psychologist: Career Choices and Insights – Library Circulating BF76 .O88 2006
The Psychology Major: Career Options and Strategies for Success - Library Circulating BF76 .L36 2007
Certification and Licensure
The Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) The alliance of state, provincial, and territorial agencies responsible for the licensure and certification of psychologists throughout the U.S. and Canada.
The American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) The ABPP establishes and incorporates the current developments in the definition and requirements of specialties in professional psychology.
Dictionaries
APA Dictionary of Psychology – Library Reference BF31 .A63 2007
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - Credo Reference
Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought - Credo Reference
Dictionary of Psychology – Library Reference BF31 .C65 2003
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology - Credo Reference
Student’s Dictionary of Psychology – Library Reference BF 31 .S69 1999
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology – Library Reference BF636 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology – Library Reference HF5548.8 .E498 2007
Encyclopedia of School Psychology – Library Reference LB1027.55 .E523 2005
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior – Library Reference R726.5 .E53 2004
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Psychology Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field of psychology.
Professional Organizations
The American Psychological Association (APA) The APA is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States and is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
The American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) The largest organized group of psychology graduate students worldwide, APAGS offers opportunities to enhance development towards a career in psychology.
The Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) As the primary organization representing psychologists throughout Canada, CPA is committed to promoting excellence and innovation in psychological research, education,and practice.
Reference Handbooks
Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals – Library Reference RA1148 .H362 2004
Handbook of Psychiatric Drugs – Library Reference RM315 .L54 2006
The Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology – Library Reference LB1051 .P635 2007
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms – Library Reference Z695.1 .P7 T48 2005
Your Psychology Project: The Essential Guide – Circulating Collection BF76.5 .E9412 2007
Research Methods
Exploring Research – Circulating Collection BF76.5 .S24 2009
Qualitative Research Methods for Psychologists: Introduction to Empirical Studies - Circulating Collection BF76.5.Q35 2006
Writing in APA
Citation and Style Guides - From the library's Online Reference Tools Section
prepared by Sharon Moore 2/09

