Site Index | Contact us

Philosophy Subject Guide

Dictionaries Encylopedias
Journal Articles Professional Associations
Reference

Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers Library Reference B804.B56 1996

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy – Credo Reference

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Library Reference B41.C35 1995  

Dictionary of American PhilosophyLibrary Reference B851 .N3  

Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers – Credo Reference

A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan Credo Reference

Dictionary of World Philosophy – Credo Reference

Dictionary of Existentialism – Credo Reference

Great Thinkers A-ZLibrary Reference B21 .G74 2004  

One Hundred Twentieth-Century PhilosophersLibrary Reference B804 .O55 1998  

Philosophical DictionaryLibrary Reference B791 .B85 2003  

A World of Ideas: A Dictionary of Important Theories, Concepts, Beliefs, and ThinkersLibrary Reference B41 .R64 1999 

Encyclopedias

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian PhilosophyLibrary Reference B121 .C66 1997 

The Concise Encyclopedia of Western PhilosophyLibrary Circulating B41 .C66 2005

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Library Reference B51.C58 2000  

The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy – Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics - Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy – Credo Reference

The Encyclopedia of PhilosophyLibrary Reference B51 .E19  

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Maintained by Stanford University, each entry in this resource is maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field. All content maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research, and every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition for proper citation purposes.

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Philosophy Databases The library lists primary databases used to find article citations and full-text journal articles relating to philosophy.

Professional Organizations

American Catholic Philosophical Association (ACPA) Cultivating the Catholic philosophical heritage, the ACPA relies upon classical sources in order to analyze major philosophers of all eras and to respond to contemporary philosophical issues.

American Philosophical Association (APA) As the major professional organization for philosophers in the United States, the mission of the APA is to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.

The Canadian Philosophical Association (CPA-ACP) Made up principally of teachers and students of philosophy, the “resolutely bilingual” ACP-PCA is devoted to professional philosophical activity in Canada.

The Society for Women in Philosophy (SWIP) SWIP was started in 1972 to advance and encourage women in philosophy. This site includes links to articles, reading lists, Feminist Theory resources, a Feminist Philosophy blog and more.

Reference

Great Thinkers of the Western World: The Major Ideas and Classic Works of More Than 100 Outstanding Western Philosophers, Physical and Social Scientists, Psychologists, Religious Writers, and Theologians Library Reference & Circulating B72 .G74 1992  

Masterpieces of World PhilosophyLibrary Reference B75 .M37 1990  

Philosophy of Meaning, Knowledge and Value in the Twentieth CenturyLibrary Reference B72 .R68 v.10