Physician Assistant Subject Guide
| Anatomy | Career Guides |
| Certification and Licensure | Diagnostics |
| Dictionaries | Encyclopedias |
| Journal Articles | Professional Associations |
| Reference and Handbooks | Statistics |
Anatomy
Anatomy & Physiology – Library Circulating
Atlas of the Body This visual aid, from the American Medical Association’s Patient Education Resources page, provides anatomy and medical illustrations for the human body.
Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice – Library Reference (also available online )
Hole's Human Anatomy & Physiology – Library Reference
Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy Derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists, Primal Pictures was created to serve as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.
Career Guides
From Program to Practice: A Guide to the Physician Assistant Profession, 2007 – Library Circulating
Physician Assistant's Business Practice and Legal Guide – Library Reference
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook (2008-09 Edition) Features descriptions and summary information on physician assistant careers, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.
Certification and Licensure
A Comprehensive Review for the Certification and Recertification Examinations for Physician Assistants – Library Reference
NCCPA-Connect The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) site contains certification guidelines and state by state licensing board information.
NYSED’s Office of the Professions The New York State Education Department’s Office of the Professions website provides requirements for licensure as a registered physician assistant in New York State
Physician Assistant Exam Review – Library Circulating
Physician Assistant Review – Library Reference
Diagnostics
Atlas of Emergency Medicine – Library Reference
French’s Index of Differential Diagnosis: an A-Z – Library Reference
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy – Library Reference (also available online )
Dictionaries
Bailliere's Midwives' Dictionary – Credo Reference.
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations – Credo Reference.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and National Institutes of Health (NIH), the MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary provides easy access to medical journal articles, extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition – Credo Reference..
Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine – Credo Reference.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions – Credo Reference.
Oxford Medical Reference Collection - This resource allows searching of the following titles either separately or collectively:
- The Oxford Companion to the Body
- A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
- Concise Medical Dictionary
- An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs
- The Oxford Companion to Medicine
- Oxford Dictionary of Nursing
- A Dictionary of Psychology
- A Dictionary of Public Health
- The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference.
Encyclopedias
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health - Library Reference
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and National Institutes of Health (NIH), the MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries and an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Physician Assisting Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field ofphysician assisting.
Professional Associations
American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) AAPA is the only national organization that represents PAs in all specialties and all employment settings. Its membership also includes physician assistant students and supporters of the profession. The website includes an events calendar, professional issues section, and licensing information.
Canadian Association of Physician Assistants (CAPA) CAPA is a leading national professional organization which advocates for PAs and represents is membership across Canada and globally. The CAPA website offers information on certification, employment opportunities, and the latest news.
New York State Society of Physician Assistants (NYSSPA) NTSSPA is the sole representative voice for over 7,000 PAs in all specialties and practice settings with the State of New York, and the largest voting block of PAs within the AAPA organization.
Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA) PAEA is the only national organization representing PA educational programs in the United States. The PAEAwebsite contains information for both faculty and students including an interactive map of PA programs in the United States and archives of the PAEA Networker, a monthly web-based newsletter.
Society of Emergency Physician Assistants (SEMPA) SEMPA is the national organization representing emergency medicine PAs and is formally recognized by and works closely with the ACEP and the AAPA regarding scope of practice, reimbursement, legislative, advocacy, and utilization of PAs.
Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (SAAAPA) SAAAPA is the official student organization for PAs. The website offers useful and current information related to being a PA student and the PA profession.
Western New York Physician Assistant Association (WNYPAA) WNYPAA is a professional association for the advancement of physician assistants in the Western New York region.
Reference and Handbooks
R2 Online Library With over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields, this online service provides access to health science book contents.
Physician Assistant's Guide to Research and Medical Literature – Library Circulating
The Physician Assistant Medical Handbook – Library Reference
Physicians Desk Reference to Pharmaceutical Specialties and Biologicals (2009) – Library Reference
Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.

