Literature Subject Guide
Biography
American National Biography The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.
Current Biography Yearbook – Library Reference
Newsmakers – Library Reference
Book Reviews
Academic Search Complete This general content database contains both full-text and citations to book reviews published in magazines, trade journals and scholarly journals across a wide range of subject areas.
Literature Resource Center This comprehensive database provides literary criticism, author biographies, bibliographies as well as further readings and resources for historic through contemporary works. Includes MLA International Bibliography. Also included are linked timelines that cover an author's lifespan, creating easy access to information about world events that may have influenced the author's work.
Proquest Research Library This general content database contains full-text and citations to book reviews in a wide range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Wilson OmniFile This multi-disciplinary database provides strong content in the areas of education, general science, the humanities, social sciences and business. Wilson also provides decent literary criticism resources as well as indexing and abstracts across many subjects. Searches are easily narrowed by discipline using the subject area limiters shown on the main search screen. Mostly full-text.
Dictionaries of Language and Literature - from Credo Reference
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
The Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
Chambers Dictionary of Eponyms
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk
African-American Writers: A Dictionary
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Critical Terms for Literary Study
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Dictionary of Shakespeare, Peter Collin Publishing
Encyclopedias - from Credo Reference
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Literature Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field of literary studies.
Literary Theory and Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) – Library Reference
Key Concepts in Literary Theory – Library Reference
Literature Criticism Online This database provides a compilation of literary commentary from decades of analysis over all eras. The library subscribes to the poetry, drama, and short story criticism sets online.
Literature Resource Center This comprehensive database provides literary criticism, author biographies, bibliographies as well as further readings and resources for historic through contemporary works. Includes MLA International Bibliography. Also included are linked timelines that cover an author's lifespan, creating easy access to information about world events that may have influenced the author's work.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) – Library Reference
Literary Themes and Genres
American
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature – Library Reference
The Chronology of American Literature - Credo Reference
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature - Credo Reference
Major Characters in American Fiction – Library Reference
The Oxford Companion to American Literature – Library Reference
Canadian
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada – Library Reference
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature – Library Reference
Children's
Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6 – Library Reference
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English - Credo Reference
Canadian Children's Books: A Critical Guide to Authors and Illustrators – Library Reference
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature - Credo Reference
The Horn Book Guide to Children’s and Young Adult Books - Library Reference (also available full-text online)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature – Library Reference
Classical
Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Literature – Library Reference
The Facts on File Dictionary of Classical, Biblical, and Literary Allusions – Library Reference
Oxford Classical Dictionary - Library Reference
Drama
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama – Library Reference
Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis – Library Reference
Drama criticism: criticism of the most significant and widely studied dramatic works from all the world's literatures – Library Reference
Myth, Legend, Folklore & Fable
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase & Fable – Library Reference
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (17th ed) Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends – Library Reference
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology – Library Reference
Poetry
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
The Facts on File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry – Library Reference
Poetry Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of the Most Significant and Widely Studied Poets of World Literature – Library Reference
Poet's Market – Library Reference
Science Fiction
Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction – Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction – Library Reference
Shakespeare
All Things Shakespeare: an Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World – Library Reference
Shakespeare A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Plays, His Poems, His Life and Times, and More – Library Reference
Short Story
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story - Credo Reference
Reference Guide to Short Fiction – Library Reference
Short Story Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Short Fiction Writers - Library Reference
Reference
A Glossary of Literary Terms - Library Reference
Brewer's Curious Titles - Credo Reference
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English - Credo Reference
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English - Credo Reference
Literary Research Guide: an Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies - Library Reference
Reference Guide to World Literature – Library Reference
Writing
The Writer’s Market (2009) - Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms- Credo Reference
American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms - Credo Reference

