Site Index | Contact us

Information Technology Subject Guide

Associations/Professional Organizations Career Guides
Dictionaries Encyclopedias
Information Security Internet and Web Site Design/Development
Multimedia Networking and communication systems
Operating Systems

Programming and software development

Systems integration and management  

 

Associations/Professional Organizations

Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) AACE is “an international, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application.”

Association for Information Systems (AIS) AIS is “a professional organization whose purpose is to serve as the premier global organization for academics specializing in Information Systems.”

Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) Offering information on current technology and business issues along with technology and leadership education, AITP is “the leading worldwide society of information technology business professionals.”

Canada's Association of Information Technology Professionals (CIPS) CIPS is the professional association for Information Technology (IT) practitioners in Canada that represents more than 6000 IT professionals on important issues affecting the IT industry and profession.

The Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) ISSA is a “not-for-profit, international organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides educational forums, publications and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill and professional growth of its members.”

The New York State Association for Computers and Technologies in Education (NYSCATE) In cooperation with the New York State Education Department (NYSED), NYSCATE is “a non-profit, professional organization representing more than 2,000 technology using educators and administrators in New York State."

 

Career Guides

The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook (2008-09 Edition)  The OOH features descriptions and summary information on Computer Support Specialists and Systems Administrators, Computer Scientists and Database Administrators, Computer Programmers, Computer Software Engineers, Computer and Information Systems Managers and more. Working conditions, job outlook, training and educational requirements, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources are discussed.

 

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Communications Technology: Terms, Definitions and Abbreviations, Wiley - Credo Reference

Collins Dictionary of Computing – Credo Reference

Dictionary of Computing – Credo Reference

Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users – Credo Reference

Hargrave's Communications Dictionary, Wiley – Credo Reference

High Definition: A-Z Guide to Personal Technology – Credo Reference

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms – Credo Reference

Webster's New World™ Computer DictionaryCredo Reference

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology – Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of Computer Science – Credo Reference

The Software Encyclopedia Library Reference

 

 

Information Security

Cyber Crime – Library Circulating

Cyber Warfare and Cyber Terrorism – Library Circulating

The Future of the Internet and How to Stop It – Library Circulating

Information Security: Principles and Practice – Library Circulating

Interagency Working Group on Cyber Security and Information Assurance (CSIA IWG) CSIA is a subcommittee of the Federal Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD) Program. CSIA agencies work to protect the integrity of computer- and network-based systems. Internet and network security, software security and systems security are just a few of the focus areas.

United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) US-CERT provides “response support and defense against cyber attacks for the Federal Civil Executive Branch . . . and information sharing and collaboration with state and local government, industry and international partners.”  US-CERT works with state and local governments, federal agencies, the IT industry, researchers and others to share cyber security information with the public.

 

 

Internet and Web Site Design/Development

Advanced Rails RecipesLibrary Circulating

The Art & Science of Javascript – Library Circulating

Building a Web Site with AjaxLibrary Circulating

Deploying Rails Applications: a Step-by-Step GuideLibrary Circulating

Head First JavaScriptLibrary Circulating

JavaScript and Ajax for the WebLibrary Circulating

Joomla!: a User's GuideLibrary Circulating

PHP and MySQL Web DevelopmentLibrary Circulating

Programming Collective Intelligence: Building Smart Web 2.0 Applications – Library Circulating

Web 2.0: a Strategy Guide – Library Circulating

Web Component Development with Zope 3Library Circulating

 

Multimedia

Blown to Bits: Your Life, Liberty, and Happiness after the Digital Explosion – Library Circulating

The Cambridge Companion to Electronic Music – Library Circulating

The Digital Filmmaking Handbook - Library Circulating

The Human-Computer Interaction Handbook – Library Circulating

Media in the Digital Age – Library Circulating

Professional Techniques for Video Game Writing – Library Circulating

Theorizing Digital Cultural Heritage – Library Circulating

 

 

Networking and communication systems

The Book of Wireless: a Painless Guide to Wi-Fi and Broadband Wireless – Library Circulating

CCNA: Cisco Certified Network Associate Study Guide – Library Circulating

Linux Networking Cookbook – Library Circulating

Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications – Library Reference

Technology and Copyright Law – Library Reference

 

Operating Systems

A Practical Guide to Ubuntu Linux – Library Circulating

Windows Vista: the Definitive Guide – Library Circulating

 

Programming and software development

Database Design and Programming with Access, SQL, Visual Basic and ASP – Library Circulating

Java Power Tools – Library Circulating

Software Testing and Continuous Quality Improvement – Library Circulating

 

Systems integration and management

Business Driven Technology – Library Circulating

Computer Ethics: a Case-based Approach – Library Circulating

A Concise Introduction to Software Engineering – Library Circulating

Cybersemiotics: Why Information is Not Enough! – Library Circulating

Making Things Happen: Mastering Project Management – Library Circulating