Site Index | Contact us

International Business Subject Guide

Company / Industry Research Resources Country Research Resources
Directories, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias General Reference
International Organizations / General Websites Journal Articles / Newspapers
Statistical Resources

Company / Industry Research Resources

For public companies, you will want to visit the company’s website to find:

Also, use databases such as ABI/Inform, Business Source Premier and Marketline. See the databases page on the library website for more information at: http://library.dyc.edu/dbsubject/intbus.html

Hoovers  Offers some decent free information about both public and private companies. A good starting place for your research, but more in-depth information is expensive.

Kompass  Website covering global company and industry information. There is plenty of free information, but some of the more comprehensive reports and information are only available to subscribers.

Nikkei Net Interactive Comprehensive website covering the Japanese and world markets. Site contains company and industry information as well as the latest business news.

Sedar Canadian public filings.

ThomasNet Online version of the Thomas Register. This is an expansive guide to suppliers across a broad range of industries. When researching competitors, industries or even specific companies, this is a good starting point.

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Government body that oversees the financial recordings of all public business. The website offers access to annual reports through Edgar, press releases, news as well as legal and regulatory information.

 

 

Country Research Resources

Try these Databases: Marketline & CountryWatch at http://library.dyc.edu/dbsubject/intbus.html

Doing Business Comprehensive website offering information on operating, starting or expanding a business in 181 countries. The site contains detailed information on topics ranging from landlocked economies and gender issues to starting a business, employing workers and obtaining permits.

CIA World Factbook Detailed information, statistics and key data on countries around the world. Information about the country, its people and the economy among other key data are updated frequently, this is a first stop when looking for information about any country.

Euromonitor Publisher of some of the most comprehensive reports on the global economy. While the majority of reports are available only for purchase, there is some good information on countries, consumer spending, market size and other indicators in the Country Factfiles.

Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands  Library Reference

 

 

Directories, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Business: The Ultimate Resource - Dictionary of Business and Management Credo Reference

Business French Dictionary Credo Reference

Business German Dictionary Credo Reference

Business Spanish Dictionary Credo Reference

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries Library Reference

Encyclopedia of the Global Economy Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources  Library Reference

The Penguin International Dictionary of Finance Credo Reference

Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary Credo Reference

 

General Reference

The Global Competitiveness Report  Library Reference

International Business Law: Text and Cases  Library Reference

Research Handbook in International Economic Law  Library Reference

The Statesman’s Yearbook  Library Reference

 

 

International Organizations / General Websites

Everything International This website is the ultimate portal for international business information and resources. It is maintained by the students and faculty of Philadelphia University. The links are kept up to date and this is a good starting point for any type of International Business research.

Global Monitoring Report 2008 (World Bank) A World Bank-International Monetary Fund report warning that most countries will fall short on the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), a set of eight globally agreed development goals with a due date of 2015.

International Chamber of Commerce Policies, reports and analysis of global business from the ICC. The ICCs membership is expansive and includes companies such as 3M, Eastman Kodak, Deloitte & Touche, Hewlett Packard, HSBC and Microsoft, to name just a few.

World Trade Organization The World Trade Organization deals with the rules of trade between nations. The WTO agreements are negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. 

 

Journal Articles / Newspapers

Montante Family Library International Business Databases Lists databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of international business.

Financial Times – or http://www.ft.com Top international business newspaper published out of London. Current news can be located at the website, but archived articles can be accessed through the Library Databases. 

Journal of International Business Studies or DYC Print Collection   Contains papers of interest that contribute to the theoretical basis of business and management studies. The Journal of International Business Studies has a broad scope making excellent content for the general academic business community.

Journal of International Marketing  Published quarterly, JIM is an international, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing international marketing practice, research, and theory. Articles address all aspects of international marketing management.

Journal of World Business or DYC Print Collection Quarterly publication covering human resource management, leadership, marketing and strategic marketing in economies worldwide, and while the articles can be broad in scope, there is a particular importance given to the Pacific Rim and Europe.

Wall Street Journal or DYC Print Collection  Premier business newspaper covering all topics related to business.

World Trade or DYC Print Collection  Contains news and information about domestic and international trade. Covers every aspect of the global supply chain from the movement of products across the U.S. to the procurement from delivery to international markets.

 

 

Statistical Resources

Global Market Share Planner Library Reference

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania Library Reference

International Historical Statistics: Europe  Library Reference

International Trade Statistics Yearbook Library Reference

Latin American Marketing Data and Statistics Library Reference

Who Buys What Library Reference

by Amy Strauss 4/09