Site Index | Contact us

Health Services Administration Subject Guide

Accreditation Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Directories Journal Articles
Legal Resources Organization and Management
Professional Associations

Statistics/Reports

 

Accreditation

Accreditation Canada By organizing programs, guiding Canadian health care professionals, developing patient safety standards and more, Accreditation Canada helps organizations improve the quality of health care services they provide.

The Commission on Accreditation Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) CAHME isan interdisciplinary group of educational, professional, clinical, and commercial organizations devoted to accountability and quality improvement in the education of healthcare management and administration professionals.”

Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals Library Reference

The Joint Commission Serving as the leading health care accrediting body in the nation, the Joint Commission - formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) - evaluates and accredits thousands of health care programs and organizations across the United States.

 

 

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care Library Reference

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations Credo Reference

A Dictionary of Public Health Oxford Reference

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management  Library Reference

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition Credo Reference

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions Credo Reference

 

 

 

Directories

The AHA Guide to the Health Care Field Library Reference

Directory of Healthcare Management Education Library Reference

Health Care Careers Directory Library Reference

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Subscription Databases The library provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text and citations for articles in the field of health services administration.

 

 

Legal Resources

Health Care Law: a Practical Guide Library Reference

Health Law Handbook Library Reference

The Law of Healthcare Administration Library Circulating

Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration Library Circulating

Medical Records and the Law Library Reference

Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook Library Reference

The Practical Guide to HIPPA Privacy and Security Compliance Library Reference

 

 

 

Organization and Management

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) that is responsible for improving “the quality, safety, efficiency, effectiveness, and cost-effectiveness of health care for all Americans.”

The American Hospital Association Quality Center This resource of the AHA helps hospitals accelerate their quality and performance improvement processes and features tools, articles and other resources to support hospitals to achieve better patient outcomes, enhance safety, increase satisfaction and improve operational and financial performance.

Ethics in Health Services Management Library Circulating

The Financial Management of Hospitals and Healthcare Organizations Library Circulating

Health Care USA: Understanding its Organization and Delivery Library Circulating

An Insider's Guide to Better Nursing Home Care: 75 Tips You Should Know Library Circulating

Introduction to Health Care Management Library Circulating

Leadership in Health Care Library Circulating

Long-Term Care: Managing Across the Continuum Library Circulating

Principles of Health Care Management: Compliance, Consumerism, and Accountability in the 21st Century Library Circulating

Transforming Health Care Management: Integrating Technology Strategies Library Circulating

Understanding the U.S. Health Services System Library Circulating

 

 

Professional Associations

American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) AAHAM is the “premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management”. Identifying the “professional development of its members” as one of the association’s primary goals, AAHAM is a” major force in shaping the future of health care administrative management”. 

The American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) ACHE is an international professional society of healthcare executives well-known for its prestigious credentialing and educational programs. ACHE’s web site provides career services, networking opportunities and updates on conference and workshops in Health Care Administration

American Hospital Association (AHA) As the “national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities”, AHA “provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends”.  Resources available via the AHA Resource Center focus on the “administrative aspects of health care” and offer “timely, high-quality" information.

Healthcare Financial Management Association HFMAis “the nation's leading membership organization for healthcare financial management executives and leaders”. Information updates, career assistance, local and national networking and access to job postings are just a few of the services provided via HFMA’s web site.

 

 

Statistics/Reports

Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) CIHI is an “independent, not-for-profit organization that provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.”  In addition to statistics, CIHI’s web site provides information on standards, health indicators, health spending and much more.

CDC’s Data & Statistics The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)  - a division of the Department of Health and Human Services - provides an annual report on health trends statistics (Health, United States), public health-related statistics, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS),  Health Data Interactive (customizable tables with national statistics used to track various health-related trends), and much, much more.

Health in the Americas Library Reference

Hospital Compare A collaborative effort from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and other members of the Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA), Hospital Compare measures the quality of care and other statistics resulting from a recent patient survey of several hundred U.S. hospitals.

Hospital Statistics Library Reference & Circulating

The Western New York Health Risks Assessment (HRA) The HRA is a study conducted approximately every five years to measure health behavior data at a county-specific level. In 2004/2005, data was collected from households within the eight counties of Western New York and analyzed by the University at Buffalo's Department of Social and Preventive Medicine. Data from the 2005 report is available at wnyhra.org - a service of the Western New York Public Health Alliance, Inc.

 

by Sharon Moore 4/09