Site Index | Contact us

History Subject Guide

African History American History
Ancient History Anthropology
Asian/Middle Eastern History Atlases
British History Canadian History
European History Genealogy
Journal Articles Local/New York State History
Military History Professional Associations/Historical Societies
South/Central/Latin American History World History

African History

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African HistoryLibrary Reference

Key Events in African History: A Reference GuideLibrary Reference

Encyclopedia of African History - Credo Reference

American History

American Memory The Library of Congress provides a digital record of American history and creativity to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. These materials that document the American experience chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas and continue to shape America.

Conspiracy Theories in American History - Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of American Historical DocumentsLibrary Reference

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - Credo Reference

The Great American History Fact-Finder - Credo Reference

The Reader's Companion to American History - Credo Reference

The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History - Credo Reference

The Reader's Companion to the American Presidency - Credo Reference

The Oxford Companion to United States History - Library Reference

Ancient History

Ancient History: From the First Civilizations to the Renaissance – Library Circulating

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East - Library Reference

A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilson – Credo Reference

Handbook to Life in Ancient Egypt – Library Reference

Handbook to Life in Ancient MesopotamiaLibrary Reference

Handbook to Life in Ancient RomeLibrary Reference

Handbook to Life in the Ancient Maya WorldLibrary Reference

Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledge – Credo Reference

Who's Who in The Roman World, Routledge – Credo Reference

Anthropology

Cultural Anthropology: a Guide to Reference and Information SourcesLibrary Reference

Encyclopedia of AnthropologyLibrary Reference

Asian/Middle Eastern History

Ancestors in the Americas  This companion site to the PBS series "Ancestors in the Americas," includes an Asian American timeline and links to sites on the history of Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Pacific Islander and Southeast Asians who settled in the New World.

The Cambridge History of RussiaLibrary Circulating

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa Library Reference

India: The Definitive HistoryLibrary Circulating

A Short History of AsiaLibrary Circulating

Atlases

America Discovered: A Historical Atlas of North American ExplorationLibrary Reference 

Atlas of American HistoryLibrary Reference

Atlas of World HistoryLibrary Reference

Concise Atlas of World History, Andromeda – Credo Reference

Historical Atlas of Ancient AmericaLibrary Reference

Historical Atlas of EmpiresLibrary Reference

The Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of Central AsiaLibrary Reference

British History

The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon England – Library Reference Collection

The Companion to British History, RoutledgeCredo Reference

Historical Dictionary of the British Empire – Library Reference Collection

Who's Who in Late Medieval England, 1272-1485 – Library Reference Collection

Canadian History

The Fitzhenry and Whiteside Book of Canadian Facts and Dates Library Reference

The Illustrated History of Canada – Library Circulating

European History

Early Modern Europe, 1450-1789 – Library Circulating

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000Library Reference

Genealogy

Guides to Genealogical Research Compiled by the Library of Congress for the novice genealogist, this selected list of references includes introductory books about genealogical research in the United States. Original, printed, and microfilmed essential resources and useful search strategies are covered.

The Source: a Guidebook to American GenealogyLibrary Reference

Journal Articles

Historic DocumentsLibrary Reference

History Behind the Headlines: the Origins of Conflicts Worldwide – Library Reference

Montante Family Library History Databases The library lists primary databases used to find article citations and full-text journal articles relating to historical, genealogical and archaeological research.

Local/New York State History

BuffaloResearch.com This site offers numerous links to resources to assist genealogists and historians with their research.  Just some of the topics included are: local architecture, vital records, historic Buffalo businesses and their products.  Tips on how to research are also included, along with 19th - 20th century photographs, the “Ten Best Local History and Genealogy Websites” and much more.

Dictionary of New York Historic PlacesLibrary Reference

Encyclopedia of New York StateLibrary Reference

Headlines & History: Celebrating 120 Years of the Buffalo News – Library Circulating

Western New York Legacy Provided by the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC), the goal of this project is to provide online access to materials that document the rich cultural heritage of the Western New York region.  Materials found at this site include: manuscripts; photographs; maps; drawings; books; artifacts; and audio files.

Military History

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy - Library Reference

Dictionary of Battles and Sieges: a Guide to 8,500 Battles from Antiquity Through the Twenty-first CenturyLibrary Reference  

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a Political, Social, and Military History - Library Reference

The First Total War: Napoleon's Europe and the Birth of Warfare as We Know It – Library Circulating

Generals in Blue:; Lives of the Union Commanders - Library Reference

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War - Library Reference

The Pictorial Field Book of the Civil War in the United States of America - Library Reference

The Reader's Companion to Military History – Credo Reference

Wars of the Americas: A Chronology of Armed Conflict in the New World, 1492 to the Present - Library Reference

Professional Associations/Historical Societies

American Anthropological Association (AAA) Formed in 1902 to promote the science of anthropology; support the efforts of American anthropologists; foster anthropological societies; serve as a bond among American anthropologists and to publish and encourage the publication of anthropology-related literature, the AAA is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.

American Historical Association (AHA) The largest historical society in the United States, the AHA was founded in 1884 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research. The AHA serves more than 14,000 history professionals, representing every historical period and geographical area.

The Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society (BECHS)  Founded by Millard Fillmore in 1862 and designated by him to be the “grand repository of everything calculated to throw light on our history”, the BECHS collects and preserves of the artifacts and records of Western New York history, maintaining manuscript, photographic and rare book collections and extensive genealogical resources.

Canadian Historical Association (CHA) Founded in 1922, the CHA is a bilingual organization dedicated to scholarship in all fields of history. The CHA represents the interests of historians and the heritage community to government, archives, granting and other agencies; organizes conferences; publishes the best of Canadian historical scholarship; and awards a range of prizes to historians who have produced exceptional work.

National Genealogical Society (NGS) The NGS, a non-profit organization founded in 1903, is the premier national society for everyone from the beginner to the most advanced genealogist and an indispensable resource for genealogists and family historians seeking excellence in educational offerings, publications and materials, research and research guidance, and opportunities to interact with others.

New York Historical Society (N-YHS) N-YHS is dedicated to fostering research and presenting exhibitions and public programs that demonstrate the vitality of New York City and State’s history and the influence it has had on today’s world. Founded in 1804, the Society’s holdings cover four centuries of American history and include one of the world’s greatest collections of historical artifacts, American art and other materials documenting the history of the United States.

South/Central/Latin American History

The Indians of Central and South America: an Ethnohistorical DictionaryLibrary Reference

The Oxford History of Mexico- Library Circulating

World History

Encyclopedia of Historic Places – Library Reference

The Encyclopedia of World History – Credo Reference

History’s Great Untold Stories: Larger than Life Characters & Dramatic Events that Changed the WorldLibrary Circulating

The Hutchinson Chronology of World History – Credo Reference

created 3/09 Sharon Moore