Site Index | Contact us

Health Policy Subject Guide

Dictionaries Directories
Encylopedias Government Resources
Handbooks and Manuals Health Care Law
Health Care Policy Journal Articles
Professional Organizations

 

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Health, Economics and Finance Library Reference

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care Library Reference

 

Directories

Directory of Biomedical and Health Care Grants Library Reference

Health Care Standards: Official Directory Library Reference

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management Library Reference

Ethics Library Reference

The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Library Reference

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Library Reference

 

Government Resources

US Department of Health & Human Services The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

US Department of Health and Human Service Rural Health Policy The Office of Rural Health Policy (ORHP) promotes better health care service in rural America.

US Department of Labor The Department of Labor fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements. In carrying out this mission, the Department administers a variety of Federal labor laws including those that guarantee workers’ rights to safe and healthful working conditions; a minimum hourly wage and overtime pay; freedom from employment discrimination; unemployment insurance; and other income support.

US Department of Labor Occupational Safety & Health Administration Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing a safe and healthy workplace for their employees. OSHA's role is to promote the safety and health of America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards; providing training, outreach and education; establishing partnerships; and encouraging continual process improvement in workplace safety and health.

 

 

Handbooks and Manuals

2008 Cobra Handbook Library Reference

Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals: The Official Handbook Library Reference

Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care Library Reference

Health Law Handbook HIPPA Regulations Library Reference

Institutional Review Board Member Handbook Library Reference

Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook Library Reference

R2 Online Library Full-text online service providing access to Health Policy book contents.  Over 80 titles to chose from including but not limited to The Compliance Guide to the JCAHO Medical Staff Standards, Conducting Clinical Research, Designing Clinical Research, Medical Law, Ethics & Bioethics, and Ethics of Health Care

The OSHA Handbook Library Reference

 

Health Care Law

2008 State by State Guide to Human Resources Law Library Reference

Coding for HIPPA How to Report Professional Claims Library Reference

HIPPA Policies and Procedures Desk Reference   Library Reference

The Law of Healthcare Administration Library Circulating

Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration Library Circulating

Medical Records and the Law Library Reference

Quick Reference to COBRA Compliance Library Reference

The Practical Guide to HIPPA Privacy and Security Compliance Library Reference

The Right to Die: The Law of End-of-Life Decision Making Library Reference

 

Health Care Policy

Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z  Library Reference

Information Management: The Compliance Guide to the Joint Commission Standards Library Reference

Major Health Care Policies: 50 State Profiles, 2001 / A Publication of the Health Policy Tracking Service: National Conference of State Legislatures Library Reference

Measuring and Managing Health Care Quality; Procedures, Techniques and Protocols Library Reference

The Compliance Guide to the ACAHO Medical Staff Standards Library Reference

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Health Policy Databases  Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of health policy.

 

 

Professional Organizations

American Health Quality Association  The American Health Quality Association represents Quality Improvement Organizations (QIOs) and professionals working to improve the quality of health care in communities across America.

American Public Health Association The American Public Health Association is the oldest, largest and most diverse organization of public health professionals in the world and has been working to improve public health since 1872. The Association aims to protect all Americans and their communities from preventable, serious health threats and strives to assure community-based health promotion and disease prevention activities and preventive health services are universally accessible in the United States.

Joint Commission An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.

National Academy for State Health Policy  The National Academy for State Health Policy is an independent academy of state health policymakers working together to identify emerging issues, develop policy solutions, and improve state health policy and practice. NASHP provides a forum for constructive, nonpartisan work across branches and agencies of state government on critical health issues facing states.

National Association of Public Health Policy By proposing guidelines for leaders at the national, state, and local level, the Association promotes a progressive agenda aimed at improving the living standards, health, and welfare of all Americans, while preserving fundamental individual rights of privacy and self-determination.

National Health Policy Forum The National Health Policy Forum offers a range of educational programming designed to help congressional and federal agency staff become better informed about current health policy issues. The National Health Policy Forum's mission is to cultivate a learning community among key senior staff in Congress, its support agencies, and the executive branch of the federal government in order to improve the policymaking process on the nation's critical health issues.

National Rural Health Association The NRHA is a national nonprofit membership organization with more than 18,000 members. The association’s mission is to provide leadership on rural health issues.

The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government: New York State Health Policy

The New York State Health Policy Research Center (HPRC), a program of the Rockefeller Institute of Government, provides relevant, nonpartisan research and analysis of state health policy issues for New York State and national policymakers.