Site Index | Contact us

Health Education

Dictionaries Directories
Encylopedias Government Resources
Handbooks and Manuals Health Care
Health Care Policy Journal Articles
Legal Resources Professional Associations
Standards and Programs Statistical Resources
Writing in APA  

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care Library Reference

The Information Security Dictionary Library Reference

A Dictionary of Public Health Oxford Reference

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations – Credo Reference

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition Credo Reference

Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine – Credo Reference

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions – Credo Reference

 

 

Directories

Directory of Healthcare Management Education Library Reference 

National Health Directory Library Reference

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health Library Reference

Encyclopedia of American Education Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Education Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Education Law Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Special Education Library Reference

The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Library Reference

The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Library Reference

Ethics Library Reference

 

 

Government Resources

CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, health promotion and health education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.

ED Publications Publications provided by the U.S. Department of Education, many articles and documents available full-text through ERIC

National Institutes of Health  NIH is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation. Its mission is science in pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the  application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and  disability.

U.S.Department of Education  Mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access to education

U.S.Department of Health and Human Services  United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions  This website contains information on Committee legislation, hearings and markups, as well as access to Committee hearing testimony. It also contains links to all federal agencies that are charged with enforcing federal laws related to health care.

World Health Organization  Responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

 

 

Handbooks and Manuals

R2 Online Library is an online service providing access to health science book contents. Over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields, including but not limited to: Health Promotion, Ethics of Health Care, Health Assessment Through the Lifespan, Integrative Health Promotion, Conducting Clinical Research, Designing Clinical Research, Medical Law, Ethics and Bioethics

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment Library Reference

 

 

Health Care

American Health: Demographics and Spending of Health Care Consumers Library Reference

Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care Library Reference

Health in the Americas. Library Reference

Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac Library Reference

Praeger Handbook of Black American Health : Policies and Issues Behind Disparities in Health Library Reference

Public Health & Preventive Medicine Library Reference

 

 

Health Care Policy

Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z Library Reference

Major Health Care Policies: 50 State Profiles, 2001 / a Publication of the Health Policy Tracking Service: National Conference of State Legislatures. Library Reference

 

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Health Education Databases  Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of health education.

 

 

Legal Resources

Coding for HIPPA How to Report Professional Claims Library Reference

Health Law Handbook Library Reference

HIPPA Policies and Procedures Desk Reference Library Reference

Medical Records and the Law Library Reference

Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook Library Reference

The Practical Guide to HIPPA Privacy and Security Compliance Library Reference

2008 Cobra Handbook Library Reference

 

 

Professional Organizations

American Association for Health Education The American Association for Health Education serves health educators and other professionals who promote the health of all people. AAHE encourages, supports, and assists health professionals concerned with health promotion through education.

National Center for Health Education The National Center for Health Education (NCHE) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to lead the nation in the implementation of lifelong comprehensive health education. NCHE conducts programs and initiatives in advocacy, information exchange, technical assistance, and research and evaluation, all focused on improving the health of Americans.

National Commission for Health Education Credentialing  NCHEC's mission is to improve the practice of health education and to serve the public and profession of health education by certifying health education specialists, promoting professional development, and strengthening professional preparation and practice.

 

 

Standards and Programs

Health Care Standards: Official Directory Library Reference

Healthy Youth: CDC's School Health Education Resources (SHER) CDC's School Health Education Resources (SHER) provides access to school health education available from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

National Health Education Standards The National Health Education Standards are written expectations for what students should know and be able to do by grades 2, 5, 8, and 12 to promote personal, family, and community health. The standards provide a framework for curriculum development and selection, instruction, and student assessment in health education.

Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) The Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) can help school districts, schools, and others conduct a clear, complete, and consistent analysis of health education curricula. The HECAT results can help schools select or develop appropriate and effective health education curricula and improve the delivery of health education.

Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications Library Reference

 

 

Statistical Resources

Health Care State Rankings Library Reference

National Health Statistics Report 2008 This report presents the most current (2006) nationally representative data on visits to hospital emergency departments (ED) in the United States. Statistics are presented on selected hospitals, patients, and visit characteristics.

State Rankings A Statistical View of America Library Reference

Statistical Abstract of the United States Library Reference

Stastical Abstract of the United States online resources is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States published by the US Census Bureau.

The American People Census 2000 Library Reference

The Universal Healthcare Almanac Library Reference

The World Health Report 2008  World Health Report addresses the issue of primary health care as a set of values and principles for guiding the development of health systems.

Vital Statistics of the United States Library Reference

WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. It comprises more than 70 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables. The data can be further filtered, tabulated, charted and downloaded.

 

 

Writing in APA

Citation and Style Guides - From the library's Online Reference Tools Section.

Montante Family Library APA Style Guide - The library's APA handout in PDF format.

by Sandy Costanza 3/09