Site Index | Contact us

Exercise and Sports Science Subject Guide

Anatomy Career Guides
Certification/Licensure Diagnostics
Dictionaries Directories
Encyclopedias Journal Articles
Professional Associations Reference/Handbooks R2 Rittenhouse
Statistics  

 

Anatomy

Atlas of the Body - Anatomy and medical illustrations provided by the American Medical Association.

e-Anatomy Award-winning interactive atlas of human anatomy provided by Campus Medica (requires free online registration).

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body Online The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries.

Primal Pictures The only complete and accurate 3D model of human anatomy – demonstrating function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures.  Clinical videos, MRI scans and text supplement the core anatomy data.

 

 

Career Guides

Careers for Sports Nuts & Other Athletic Types – Library Circulating

Introduction to Careers in Health, Physical Education, and Sport – Library Circulating

 

 

Certification/Licensure

ACSM’s Certification Review – Library Circulating

ACSM’s Resources for the Personal Trainer: Techniques, complications, and Management –  Library Circulating

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) For information on the ACSM’s Certified Personal TrainerSM and Health/Fitness Instructor  programs.  

Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist Practice Exam - Library Circulating

National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) An international nonprofit educational association which brings together a diverse group of professionals from the sport science, athletic, allied health, and fitness industries. These individuals are all in pursuit of achieving a common goal—the utilization of proper strength training and conditioning to improve athletic performance and fitness.

 

 

Diagnostics

Atlas of Emergency Medicine Library Reference

French’s Index of Differential Diagnosis - Library Reference.

 

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations – Credo Reference.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition – Credo Reference..

Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine – Credo Reference.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions – Credo Reference.

Oxford Medical Reference Collection This resource allows searching of the following titles either separately or collectively:

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference.

 

 

Directories

Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise SciencesLibrary Reference

MedWeb MedWeb is a directory of biomedical and health related web sites, and is maintained by library staff at Emory University.

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Sports Science - Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America - Library Reference

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health Select "Medicine" to expand the list of medical encyclopedia titles.

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports - Library Reference  

The Women’s Sports Encyclopedia  - Library Reference  

 

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Exercise & Sports Studies Databases Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of exercise & sports studies.

 

 

Professional Associations

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)  The largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world.

American Physical Therapy Association National Strength A national professional organization whose goal is to foster advancements in physical therapy practice, research, and education.

National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM) A leader in personal trainer certification, continuing education, solutions and tools for health, fitness, sports performance and sports medicine professionals.

National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) A professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.

National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) An international nonprofit educational association which brings together a diverse group of professionals from the sport science, athletic, allied health, and fitness industries. These individuals are all in pursuit of achieving a common goal—the utilization of proper strength training and conditioning to improve athletic performance and fitness.

 

 

Reference/Handbooks

R2 Online Library With over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields, this online service provides access to health science book contents. 

 

 

Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)  Provided by the Centers for Disease Control, this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics  such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.