Education Subject Guide
| Dictionaries | |
| Encyclopedias | |
| Library Book Call Numbers | |
| Literary Awards | Philosophy and Sociology of Education |
| Statistics | |
Curriculum and Methods
Algebra Project - The Algebra Project, Inc. is a "national, nonprofit organization that uses mathematics as an organizing tool to ensure quality public education for every child in America."
ASCD Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development website offers professional development workshops, programs and education topics.
Education World Web resource for teachers and administrators. Includes curriculum and lesson planning, education issues, technology in the classroom, and administrator information. K-12 focus. "Education World's goal is to make it easy for educators to integrate the Internet into the classroom. With 98 percent of the nation's public schools connected to the Internet, the need for a complete online educational guide is evident."
GEM -- The Gateway to Educational Materials A U.S. Department of Education sponsored site that provides access to educational materials including lessons and activities. The site is searchable and has an excellent browse by subject feature.
Learning Page Library of Congress site for K-12 students and educators with features, activities, lessons, online resources, etc.
ReadWriteThink - the International Reading Association's link to high quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction for educators and students.
Rethinking Schools - Founded in 1986 by activist teachers, Rethinking Schools is a nonprofit, independent publisher of educational materials. We advocate the reform of elementary and secondary education, with a strong emphasis on issues of equity and social justice
Dictionaries
Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers Credo Reference
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology Credo Reference
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Credo Reference
Dictionary of Educational Terms - Library Reference LB 15 .B35 1995
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education – Library Reference LB 15 .G68 2003
Penguin Dictionary of Psychology Credo Reference
EdSource Glossary Terms Glossary of professional jargon, provided by EdSource.
Encyclopedias
Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence Library Circulating Collection
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development Library Circulating Collection
Encyclopedia of American Education Library Reference LB 17 .U54 2007
Encyclopedia of Education Library Reference LB 15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Education Law Library Reference KF 4117 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Special Education Library Reference LC 4007 .E53 2000
World Education Encyclopedia Library Reference LB 15 .W87 2001 E
Journal Articles
Montante Family Library Subscription Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field of education.
Government Resources for Certification and Standards
FREE -- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence Supported by U.S. Federal government agencies. Includes art, technology, foreign languages, health & safety, language arts, mathematics, physical education, science, social studies, and vocational education.
Guide to the New Standards New York State United Teachers site for new state examination standards. Sample School District test preparation sites:
- New York State Learning Standards Board of Regents approved new set of learning standards for New York students.
- Preparing for the 4th Grade ELA Exam Schenectady City School District (NY).
National Library of Education The world's largest federally funded library devoted solely to education.
New York State Education Department State governmental education site. Includes links, archives, certification information, employment opportunities, reports, research, etc.
New York State Education Department Office of Teaching Initiatives Provides information on New York State certification, which is required for all teachers, administrators, teaching assistants, and pupil personnel professionals employed in the State's public schools.
Ontario Ministry of Education - Teaching Profession Whether you are currently an Ontario certified teacher or are thinking about becoming a teacher, this site provides information important to the teaching profession.
Requirements for Certification: Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary Schools, Secondary Schools, Junior Colleges Library Reference LB 1771 .W6
Standards and Schooling in the United States Library Reference LB 2822.82 .S82 2001
Teacher Certification Requirements Library Reference LB 1771 .G62
Teacher education programs in the United States: a Guide Library Reference LB 1717 .T424 2004
U.S. Department of Education ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Literary Awards
Caldecott Medal Winners 1938 – Present
Canada Council for the Arts 2001- Present
Newbery Medal Winners 1922 – Present
Philosophy and Sociology of Education
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology Credo Reference
Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence Library Circulating collection
Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers Credo Reference
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Credo Reference
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology Credo Reference
Collins Dictionary of Sociology Credo Reference
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan Credo Reference
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Use this search interface to navigate the web by philosopher or philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Informal Education To explore informal education, lifelong learning and social action, provided by infed.org, a independent and not-for-profit group.
Stanford University Encyclopedia of Philosophy provided by Stanford University
World of Sociology, Gale Credo Reference
Professional Organizations
American Association of School Administrators (AASA) The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States. AASA members advance the goals of public education and champion children’s causes in their districts and nationwide. As school system leaders, AASA members set the pace for academic achievement. They help shape policy, oversee its implementation and represent school districts to the public at large.
American Educational Studies Association (AESA) The American Educational Studies Association (AESA) was established in 1968 as an international learned society for students, teachers, research scholars, and administrators who are interested in the foundations of education. Contains information on the Philosophical and Social Foundations of Education.
The Canadian Association of Foundations of Education For information on the Philosophical and Social Foundations of Education. CAFE promotes the study of the history, philosophy, and sociology of education. CAFE is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education.
New York State Council of School Superintendents (NYSCOSS) A NYS professional and advocacy organization that provides its 800+ members with numerous professional development opportunities, publications and personal services, while advocating for public education and the superintendency.
Teachers’ Organizations (CA) Links to teachers’ associations throughout Canada, organized by province/territory.
Statistics in Education
Digest of Educational Statistics Library Reference L11 .D48
Education State Rankings Library Reference LA 217.2 .E382
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and internationally.
World Data on Education Sponsored by UNESCO's International Bureau of Education, this site features a databank of educational profiles (including statistics) for 110 nations.
Theories of Learning
EducationAltas.com A comprehensive guide to the theories and theorists, provided by Education Atlas®.
Learning Theories A comprehensive list of theories and theorists, provided by emTech.
Learning Theories A - Z - Library Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
See Also Dictionaries for articles about learning theories and theorists.

