Site Index | Contact us

Educational Leadership Subject Guide

Career Guides Certification
Dictionaries Encylopedias
Handbooks and Manuals Internet Resources
Journal Articles Philosophy and Sociology of Education
Professional Associations School Management
Statistics

Writing in APA

Career Guides

United States Department of Labor Occupational Outlook Handbook (2008-09) Features descriptions and summary information on careers in Education Administration, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.

 

Certification

Guide to the New Standards New York State United Teachers site for new state examination standards. Sample School District test preparation sites:

National Library of Education The world's largest federally funded library devoted solely to education.

New York State Education Department State governmental education site. Includes links, archives, certification information, employment opportunities, reports, research, etc.

New York State Education Department Office of Teaching Initiatives Provides information on New York State certification, which is required for all teachers, administrators, teaching assistants, and pupil personnel professionals employed in the State's public schools.

Ontario Ministry of Education - Teaching Profession Whether you are currently an Ontario certified teacher or are thinking about becoming a teacher, this site provides information important to the teaching profession.

Requirements for Certification: Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary Schools, Secondary Schools, Junior Colleges - Library Reference

Standards and Schooling in the United States - Library Reference

Teacher Certification Requirements - Library Reference

Teacher education programs in the United States: a Guide - Library Reference

U.S. Department of Education ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

 

Dictionaries

Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers - Credo Reference

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Credo Reference

Dictionary of Educational Terms - Library Reference

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education – Library Reference

Penguin Dictionary of Psychology - Credo Reference

EdSource Glossary Terms - Glossary of professional jargon, provided by EdSource.

 

 

Encyclopedias

Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence - Library Circulating

Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development - Library Circulating

Encyclopedia of American Education - Library Reference 

Encyclopedia of Education - Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Education Law - Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration – Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Special Education - Library Reference

 

Handbooks and Manuals

The Culturally Proficient School: An Implementation Guide for School Leaders - Circulating Collection

Curriculum Leadership Development: A Guide for Aspiring School Leaders - Circulating Collection

Educational Leadership: A Reference Handbook – Library Circulating

Handbook of Instructional Leadership: How Successful Principals Promote Teaching and Learning Library Circulating

The Praeger Handbook of American High Schools – Library Reference

School Leadership: Handbook for Excellence in Student Learning - Library Circulating

 

Internet Resources

Education Canada’s Education Leadership Resource Centre In association with the Canadian Association of School Administrators (CASA), ECN provides links to resources for education professionals who currently hold or who are interested in finding a leadership position within a Canadian school.

New York State Education Department (NYSED) NYSED’s site provides links to resources specifically designed for School Administrators including information on data collection requirements, No Child Left Behind (NCLB), certification status, New York State tests and more.

Ontario Ministry of Education This site, intended for Ontario's Education Administrators (including principals, vice-principals, School Board members and Trustees) includes information on funding, statutes,  regulations and more.

Institute for Educational Leadership (IEL)  The goal of the IEL is to achieve better education and futures for all of America's children by creating and disseminating new knowledge and tools to promote state-of-the-art leadership development programs and practice.

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Subscription Databases  Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text and citations for articles in the field of educational leadership.

 

Philosophy and Sociology of Education

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence - Library Circulating

Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Credo Reference

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

Collins Dictionary of Sociology - Credo Reference

A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan - Credo Reference

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Use this search interface to navigate the web by philosopher or philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Informal Education To explore informal education, lifelong learning and social action, provided by infed.org, a independent and not-for-profit group.

Stanford University Encyclopedia of Philosophy Provided by Stanford University

World of Sociology, Gale - Credo Reference

 

Professional Associations

American Association of School Administrators (AASA) "The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States. AASA members range from chief executive officers, superintendents and senior level school administrators to cabinet members, professors and aspiring school system leaders."

The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) "The mission of the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) is to lead in the advocacy and support for elementary and middle level principals and other education leaders in their commitment for all children."

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Dedicated to promoting excellence in school leadership, NASSP is an organization of middle and high school principals, assistant principals, and aspiring school leaders from across the U.S. and around the world. 

New York State Council of School Superintendents (NYSCOSS) NYSCOSS is a professional organization with over a century of service to school superintendants in New York State. In addition to advocating for public education and its superintendants, the Council provides its members with professional development opportunities and publications and personal services.

Ontario Principals’ Council (OPC) OPC is a voluntary professional association that represents the interests of principals and vice-principals in Ontario's publicly funded school system. Currently, OPC represents 5,000 school leaders in elementary and secondary schools and over 600 Associates from within the education community.

School Administrators Association of New York State (SAANYS) Maintaining its mission to support administrators with the best in representation and service, SAANYS has been serving New York's school leaders for over three decades. Whether it be negotiating contracts or dialoguing with the commissioner, SAANYS keeps its members at the forefront of educational change through strong legislative representation, legal support, and professional growth opportunities.

 

 

School Management

The Art of Educational Leadership: Balancing Performance and Accountability - Library Circulating

Case Studies in 21st Century School Administration: Addressing Challenges for Educational LeadershipLibrary Circulating

Leading Dynamic Schools: How to Create and Implement Ethical Policies - Library Circulating

Leading Through the Quagmire: Ethical Foundations, Critical Methods, and Practical Applications for School Leadership - Library Circulating

Preparing School Leaders: Defining a Research and Action Agenda - Library Circulating 6

Principal Accomplishments: How School Leaders Succeed - Library Circulating

 

 

Statistics

The Almanac of American Education - Library Reference

Education State Rankings (2008-2009) – Library Reference

Education Statistics (EdStats) Developed by the World Bank’s Education Group of the Human Development Network in collaboration with the Development Economics Vice Presidency (DEC), EdStats is a comprehensive education statistics database that compiles data from a variety of national and international sources and provides information on key education topics.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. This website provides clear, complete information about NCES and serves the research and education communities.

World Data on Education Regularly improved and expanded using the information included in the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)’s National Reports on the Development of Education and supplemented with data from other sources, this online database contains detailed information on the education systems of 161 countries worldwide – paying close attention to curriculum issues.  Each individual country profile can be downloaded in PDF format.

 

Writing in APA

Citation and Style Guides - From the library's Online Reference Tools Section.

Montante Family Library APA Style Guide - The library's APA handout in PDF format.

 

by Sharon Moore 3/09