Site Index | Contact us

Dietetics Subject Guide

Career Guides Journal Articles
Certification and Licensure Nutritional Assessment
Dictionaries Professional Organizations
Dietary Management R2 Rittenhouse Medical Books
Encyclopedias and Handbooks Statistics and Studies
Food Safety Standards Writing in APA 5th Edition

Career Guides

Issues and Choices in Clinical Nutrition Practice Circulating Collection RM216 .I87 2007 

Nutrition Careers for the 21st Century Circulating Collection (DVD) RM218.5 .N871 2006  

The U.S. Department of Labor’s  Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook Handbook (2008-09 Edition) Features descriptions and summary information on dietitian and nutritionist careers, discusses working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.

 

 

Certification and Licensure

The American Dietetics Association’s Commission on Dietetic Registration  This site provides information on CDR certification and state-by-state licensing requirements.

Canadian Provincial Regulatory Bodies Canadian dietitians are required to register with a provincial regulatory body in order to practice.  The Dietitians of Canada (DC) site lists contact information for several regulatory bodies

The New York State Education Department (NYSED) NYSED’S Office of the Professions provides licensure requirements specific to New York State.

 

Dictionaries

Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology - Credo Reference

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition – Credo Reference

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions – Credo Reference

Oxford Medical Reference Collection This resource allows searching of the following titles either separately or collectively:

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference

 

Dietary Management

ADA’s Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) A synthesis of nutritional research on dietetic practice questions. T EAL® is developed by ADA members for ADA members. It is a free member benefit for all members of the American Dietetic Association.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) AGRICOLA, the National Agricultural Library's online catalog, provides access to indexes of the NAL’s collections and primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) This site provides information, research and technology, and policies and programs to achieve security of the Canadian food system, health of the environment and innovation for growth.

Essentials of Human Nutrition – Library Circulating QP141 .E82 2007

Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services (FNCS)  Provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.This site describes the programs of the Food and Nutrition Service that are designed to provide children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet, and nutrition education.

MyPyramid.gov Designed to educate consumers, the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s food guidance system provides many options to help educate Americans in regard to making healthy food choices and to be active every day.

New York Online Access to Health Information (NOAH) Developed by a group of New York City library organizations, this site provides access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased.

The New York State Department of Health’s Division of Nutrition The New York State Department of Health’s Division of Nutrition strives to improve the health of New Yorkers through prevention, providing nutritious foods, and educating people about making smart nutrition choices. A list of NYS nutrition programs and additional resources are included.

Nutrition Care Manual Available on-campus only. The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It is the preeminent source of research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians and other health care professionals.

Nutrition.gov A service of the National Agricultural Library, this site provides easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.

The Nutrition Source Maintained by the Department of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, this site’s goal is “to provide timely information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals, and the public.”

 

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide – Library Circulating RA784 .D89 2006

Encyclopedia of Human NutritionLibrary Reference QP141 .E526 2005 

Cambridge World History of Food – Credo Reference

Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z – Credo Reference

Herb, Nutrient, and Drug Interactions: Clinical Implications and Therapeutic StrategiesLibrary Reference RM302.4 .S73 2008

The New Food Lover’s Companion, Barron’s – Credo Reference

The New Wine Lover's Companion, Barron's – Credo Reference

Nutrients A to ZLibrary Reference RA784 .S527 2004

Oddbins Dictionary of Wine – Credo Reference

Quick Reference to Clinical DieteticsLibrary Reference RM 217.2 .Q53 2006

 

R2 Rittenhouse Medical Books With over 80 titles to choose from in general medicine, nursing and allied health fields, this online service provides access to health science book contents. 

 

Food Safety Standards

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Nutrition This site, and CDC's Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity (DNPAO) site, takes a public health approach to addressing nutrition and physical activity in improving the public's health and preventing and controlling chronic diseases.

Epidemiologic Principles and Food Safety – Library Circulating RA1258 .E65 2007

National Center for Food Safety and Technology (NCFST) This site provides access to a research consortium of scientists from academia, the Food and Drug Administration, and food related industries.

The Partnership for Food Safety Education (PFSE) PFSE is a non-profit education organization that unites the country's leading industry associations, professional societies in food science, nutrition and health, consumer groups, and the U.S. government.

The U. S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) As an agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of our nation’s food supply. The FDA is also responsible for advancing the public health by helping the public get the accurate, science-based information they need to use medicines and foods to improve their health.

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Dietetics Databases Provides access to the most effective databases for locating full text articles and citations for articles in the field of dietetics.

 

Nutritional Assessment

ADA Pocket Guide to Nutrition Assessment – Library Reference RC621 .A32 2004

Nutrition Diagnosis and Intervention: Standardized Language for the Nutrition Care Process – Library Circulating RM216 .N825 2007

Nutritional Assessment – Library Circulating RC621 .L43 2007

Principles of Nutritional Assessment - Library Circulating RC621 .G52 2005

 

Professional Organizations

American Dietetic Association (ADA) The ADA is the nation’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. They are committed to improving the nation’s health and advancing the dietetics profession through research, education and advocacy.

Dietitians of Canada (DC) DC is the only national professional association of dietitians in Canada and is one of the largest organizations of dietetics professionals worldwide.

The International & American Associations of Clinical Nutritionists (IAACN) The IAACN is a professional association of practicing clinical nutritionists who strive to attain the highest standards of competency and practice.

The New York State Dietetic Association (NYSDA) One of the largest groups of nutrition professionals in New York State, NYSDA’s members consists of Registered Dietitians (RDs), Dietetic Technicians, Registered (DTRs) and nutrition students.

 

Statistics and Studies

The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the FNIC provides online access to research and statistics on a variety of nutrition topics including reports and studies related to federal nutrition assistance programs in addition to credible, accurate and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

Healthy People 2010 Healthy People 2010 is a set of health objectives for the Nation to achieve over the first decade of the new century. It can be used by many different people, states, communities, professional organizations, and others to help them develop programs to improve health.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. MMWR readership predominately consists of physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists and other scientists, researchers, educators, and laboratorians.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site includes statistical data about U.S. public health topics such as health care, diseases, drug use, birth and death rates, and aging.

Quickfacts from US Census Bureau. For state and county facts, with quick and easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.

Regional Knowledge Network Directory of WNY public services, governance & regional information.

Stastical Abstracts of the United States Library Reference HA202 .U6.

Stastical Abstract of the United States online resources is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States published by the US Census Bureau.

Usa.gov Health and Nutrition A site designed to be easy for visitors to navigate. It provides links to the most commonly sought government resources and services, providing information, statistics and forms.

 

Writing in APA

Citation and Style Guides From the library's Online Reference Tools Section.

Montante Family Library APA Style Guide The library's APA handout in PDF format.

created by Sharon Moore 3/09
"));