Site Index | Contact us

DaVinci High School Subject Guide

Choosing a Topic Collecting/Evaluating Information
Fact-Finding Resources Journal/Newspaper Articles
Saying What You Mean Study Skills
Writing  

Choosing a Topic

10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports, and Speeches: Intriguing, Original Research Topics for Every Student's Need – Library Reference

Hot Topics - From the Libraries at the University of Louisville, this list of paper topic suggestions includes several very good ideas.

Opposing Viewpoints – Library Circulation. This series presents various perspectives on controversial contemporary issues. The points of view expressed in each volume are radically different and present clear, fact-supported points that students will find useful for papers and reports.

Topic Ideas – This list of contemporary issues and "hot topics" for ideas for research papers and reports is provided by Contra Costa College Library.

Collecting/Evaluating Information

The Oxford Guide to Library Research – Library Circulating

Learning to Learn: a Guide to Becoming Information Literate – Library Circulating

Student Guide to Research in the Digital Age: How to Locate and Evaluate Information Sources - Library Circulating

Fact-Finding Resources

Encyclopedia Americana - Library Reference

The New Encyclopaedia Britannica - Library Reference

The Treasury of the Encyclopaedia Britannica: More than Two Centuries of Facts, Curiosities, and Discoveries from the Most Distinguished Reference Work of All Time – Library Reference

The World Factbook – Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this online resource provides current, almanac-style information (including demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military) of over 250 countries.

Journal/Newspaper Articles

Montante Family Library Online Databases  - The Montante Family Library provides access to the most effective databases for locating full-text articles and citations for articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers and more.

Today’s Front Pages – The “World’s Most Interactive Museum”, the Newseum (in Washington, D.C.) displays hundreds of daily newspaper front pages from all over the world in their original, unedited form.

 

Saying What You Mean

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary – Library Reference

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus – Library Reference

OneLookIn addition to standard definitions and translations, OneLook’s Reverse Dictionary helps students with “writer’s block” find words and phrases related to pretty much any topic they are researching or writing about.

Talk the Talk: the Slang of 65 American Subcultures – Library Reference

The Synonym Finder - Library Reference      

Study Skills

Fact Monster’s Homework CenterInfoplease is the world's largest free reference site, and Fact Monster, designed especially for students, teachers, and parents, offers many options (including Study Skills) in its Homework Center to help students achieve academic success.

How to Study - Library Circulating

Seven Steps to Homework Success: a Family Guide for Solving Common Homework Problems – Library Circulating

 

Writing

Cite It Right: the SourceAid Guide to Citation, Research, and Avoiding Plagiarism – Library Reference

The Curious Case of the Misplaced Modifier: How to Solve the Mysteries of Weak Writing – Library Circulating

The Great Grammar Challenge: Test Yourself on Punctuation, Usage, Grammar, and More – Library Circulating

IPL TeenspaceThe Internet Public Library (IPL) website offers step-by-step help for writing a “first-class” research paper, including guides for researching, writing tips, links to great online resources and much more.

The Longman Pocket Writer's Companion - Library Circulating

Rules for Writers - Library Circulating

REA's Quick & Easy Guide to Writing Your A Term Paper - Library Circulating

A Writer's Guide to Research and Documentation - Library Circulating

created by Sharon Moore 4/09