Career Discovery Subject Guide
| Directories | Guides and Handbooks |
| Interviewing | Journal Articles |
| Resumes and Cover Letters | Volunteering |
The Career Services Center is committed to providing assistance to those preparing for the job market both before and after graduation. Included is a link to D’Youville’s Career Connections web site.
Directories
The Almanac of American Employers 2008 – Library Reference HF5382.75.U6 A45 2008
A Guide to Religious Ministries for Catholic Men and Women - Library Reference BX2505 .G84 2008
Health Care Careers Directory 2008-2009 – Library Reference R847 .D57
Guides and Handbooks
150 Best Recession-proof Jobs – Library Reference HF5382.5.U5 A594 2009
Best Jobs for the 21st Century – Library Reference HF5381.15 .F37 2009
Career Opportunities in Series - Library Reference (call numbers vary)
The Complete Job Search Book for College Students - Circulating Collection HF5382.7 .W36 2007
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance – Library Reference HF5381 .E52 2008
Facts on File's Career Opportunities Series. Some of the titles available include:
- Career Opportunities in Photography – Library Reference TR154 .G53 2006
- Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts – Library Reference N8350 .C53 2006
- Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security and Protective Services – Library Reference HV8143 .E34 2006
- Career Opportunities in the Film Industry - Library Reference PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2003
New York State Department of Labor This website provides information about working in New York State, its labor market, and a variety of its programs including Worker Protection, Unemployment Insurance and Employment Services.
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2008-09 – Library Reference HF5381 .U62 (also available online)
What Color is Your Parachute? 2009 – Circulating Collection HF5382.7 .B64
Interviewing
The Career Coward's Guide to Interviewing: Sensible Strategies for Overcoming Job Search Fears – Circulating Collection HF5549.5.I6 P563 2007
Competency-Based Interviews: Master the Tough New Interview Style and Give Them the Answers That Will Win You the Job – Circulating Collection HF5549.5.I6 K47 2006
Journal Articles
ABI/Inform Business - This comprehensive collection of business databases provides users with the latest industry news, product information, competitive analysis and marketing trends. A wide variety of business and industry-related career information is also available - including networking, training, development and advancement strategies, and much more.
Academic Search Complete –This database provides access to magazines, trade journals and scholarly publications across a wide range of subject areas including employment. The articles found in this database tend to focus on subjects such as motivation, competence, real-world experience, accountability and the importance of education in regard to career development and advancement.
Business Source Premier – Geared toward the management side of the workplace, this extensive business database offers analysis, overviews and news about U.S. companies and industries. Business policy and strategy, leadership, personnel issues and professional development training are just a few of the topics addressed.
CINAHL (Ebsco) - Recent developments in medicine, along with unparalleled changes in health care systems, have created an environment in which it is necessary for health care professionals to take control of their careers and futures. Covering the subjects of nursing and allied health, this extensive database contains information regarding career development, alternatives, and advancement in the medical field.
Education Research Complete – Information on topics ranging from early childhood learning to higher education can be found in this database, including articles on the latest trends in classroom instruction and administration. Current educators and those considering a career in education will find helpful information for successful planning and teaching. Professional development is also emphasized.
Health Reference Center Academic – This database provides resource for health-related research, general interest health and information, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and more. Current and future health care professionals will find plenty of information on career planning and development.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe – This database, primarily used for legal and business research and current news and events, contains full-text information on company executives, industry, and public and private company information. Career options, planning and development are covered with a worldwide perspective.
MasterFILE Select - From skilled labor to executives and everything in-between, the assortment of career-related information available in this database is as broad as the range of general subjects covered (business, education, general news, science, healthcare and more).
Occupational Outlook Quarterly Online This online version of Occupational Outlook Quarterly provides practical information on jobs and careers, covering a wide variety topics such as new and emerging occupations, training opportunities, salary trends, and results of new studies from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Proquest Central - ProQuest Central includes resources from over 160 different subject areas across the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Job hunting, planning, development, skills, training and advancement are just some of the career-related topics available in addition to information regarding industry trends, unemployment statistics, current economic conditions and more.
Proquest Research Library – An excellent resource for college students at the very beginning of their career-planning endeavors, this database covers a wide assortment of subjects including the arts, business, education, the military, health, psychology, law, and the sciences. Academic guidance and career counseling are emphasized.
Regional Business News - Containing more than 75 of the top regional business newspapers, news magazines and newswires from both metropolitan and rural regions across the U.S., this database focuses on specific geographic locations in regard to career planning, opportunities and development and region-specific industry trends, unemployment statistics and more.
Résumés and Cover Letters
Amazing Résumés: What Employers Want to See--and How to Say It – Library Reference HF5383 .B69 2006
No-nonsense Cover Letters: the Essential Guide to Creating Attention-grabbing Cover Letters That Get Interviews & Job Offers – Library Reference HF5383 .E47894 2007
The Quick Résumé & Cover Letter Book: Write and Use an Effective Résumé in Only One Day – Library Reference HF5383 .F32 2008
Resumes for Nursing Careers – Library Reference RT86.7 .R45 2007
Volunteering
Volunteering: How Service Enriches Your Life, and How its Unexpected Halo Effect Boosts Your Career – Circulating Collection HN49.V64 R39 1999

