Site Index | Contact us

Business Subject Guide

Company and Industry Research Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
General Reference Journal Articles and Newspapers
Local Resources Statistical Resources
Websites  

Company and Industry Research

For public companies, you will want to visit the company’s website. They very often have an investor relations section that contains all sorts of information about their business and financial operations, including their annual report and SEC filings.

Hoovers Offers some decent free information about both public and private companies. A good starting place for your research, but more in-depth information is expensive.

Sedar Canadian public filings.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, United States and CanadaLibrary Reference HG 4057.A4 

ThomasNet Online version of the Thomas Register. This is an expansive guide to suppliers across a broad range of industries. When researching competitors, industries or even specific companies, this is a good starting point.

U.S. Chamber of Commerce The U.S. Chamber website contains news, issues and resources pertinent to businesses of all sizes, sectors, and regions.

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Government body that oversees the financial recordings of all public business. The website offers access to annual reports through Edgar, press releases, news as well as legal and regulatory information.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics The BLS website offers access to statistics from every aspect of labor and economics – productivity, wages, occupations, compensation, pricing and expenditures, to name just a few.

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Business: The Ultimate Resource - Dictionary of Business and Management -- Credo Reference

Dictionary of Business -- Credo Reference

Dictionary of Accounting -- Credo Reference

Encyclopedia of BusinessLibrary Reference HF 1001 .E466 2000 

Encyclopedia of Business Information SourcesLibrary Reference HF5351 .E52 2008 

Encyclopedia of the History of American Management -- Credo Reference

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics -- Credo Reference

The Penguin International Dictionary of Finance -- Credo Reference

The Ultimate Business Library, Wiley -- Credo Reference

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators -- Credo Reference

 

General Reference

2008 Cobra Handbook -- Library Reference KF3515.3.C62 2008 

American Salaries and Wage Survey -- Library Reference HD4973.A67 2007 

Business Ethics: Case Studies and Selected ReadingsLibrary Reference HF5387.5.U6 J46

Business Plans Handbook -- Library Reference HD62.7.B865 

Employment, Hours & Earnings: States & AreasLibrary Reference HD 8064.H362

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational PsychologyLibrary Reference HF5548.8.E498

Government Assistance Almanac -- Library Reference HC110.P63 G69 

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What -- Library Reference HC110.C6 O34  

Marketing Scales Handbook: a Compilation of Multi-Item Measures for Consumer Behavior and AdvertisingLibrary Reference HF 5415.3 .B785 2005  

Occupational Outlook Handbook -- Library Reference HF5381.U62 

State by State Guide to Human Resources Law -- Library Reference KF3455.Z95 S73 

 

Journal Articles and Newspapers

Montante Family Library Business Databases Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of business.

Business Ethics Quarterly Business Ethics Quarterly is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes theoretical and empirical research relevant to the ethics of business.

Business First or http://buffalo.bizjournals.com/buffalo/  Buffalo-based business newspaper covering local business topics. The newspaper’s Website is useful, although access to news articles is limited to recent stories. The site has a tool for company research, with company profiles for companies nationwide.

Harvard Business Review  or in the DYC Print Collection A monthly research-based magazine covering general management topics. 

Journal of Commerce  or in the DYC Print Collection Weekly magazine covering supply chain, logistics and shipping issues through news, analysis, case studies, and perspective pieces.

Journal of Human Capital Covers topics ranging from education, labor, health, and family economics to income distribution, social mobility, wealth creation, immigration and economic globalization.

Organizational Dynamics or in the DYC Print Collection Contains research articles on the topic of organizational behavior and development as well as HRM and strategic management.

Wall Street Journal or in the DYC Print Collection Premier business newspaper covering all topics related to business.

Local Resources

Business First Book of ListsLibrary Reference HF5068.B9 B65 

Buffalo Niagara Enterprise The site has some excellent regional resources including demographic data, labor market assessment, top corporation information and business costs through the area.

Small Business Administration This home page provides links to many resources helpful to the small business owner.

Small Business Development Center, Buffalo State College One of 18 State University of New York centers to provide management and technical assistance to small businesses in New York State.

Buffalo Niagara Partnership Provides useful directory of local business affiliated with the partnership as well as information about ongoing projects, development and news.

Statistical Resources

Business Statistics of the United StatesLibrary Reference HC 101 .A13122

Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology -- Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005 

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement -- Library Reference H62 .E529 2005 

Handbook of U.S. Labor StatisticsLibrary Reference HD8064.H36 

State Rankings 2007 -- Library Reference HA203.U17 

Statistical Abstract of the United States -- Library Reference HA202 .U6.

Stastical Abstract of the United States online resources is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States published by the US Census Bureau.

Statistics Canada Web home of Canada’s national statistical agency including population, economic, geographical, crime, the environment and more.

Websites

Standard and Poor’s Provides histories, business unit descriptions, news, events and credit ratings. Registration required.

U.S.  Census Bureau, Economic Census  Profiles the U.S. economy from national to local level. It is compiled every 5 years.

U.S.  Census Bureau, Statistical Abstract Comprehensive summary of social, political and economic statistics of the United States. Data is pulled from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. This online version contains complete content from the most current print edition.

U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration Provides current reports, studies, statistics and other resources pertinent to U.S. and international trade.

3/09 A. Strauss