Site Index | Contact us

Biology Subject Guide

Anatomy & Physiology Dictionaries
Directories Encylopedias
Government Resources Genetics
Journal Articles Microbiology
Plants Professional Organizations & Societies

 

Anatomy & Physiology

Atlas of Human Anatomy Reference Collection

Basic Atlas of Sectional Anatomy with Correlated Imaging  Reference Collection

Essentials of Human Anatomy & Physiology  Circulating Collection

Fundamentals of Anatomy & Physiology  Circulating Collection

Gray’s Anatomy  Reference Collection

Primal Pictures 3-D Anatomy   Derived from genuine medical scan data, and interpreted by a team of anatomists, Primal Pictures translates into three-dimensional images by graphics specialists. Primal Pictures serves as the only complete and medically accurate 3D model of human anatomy. The visuals accompany 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Clinical videos, MRI scans and text written by medical specialists supplement the core anatomy data.

Textbook of Medical Physiology  Reference Collection

World of Anatomy and Physiology   Reference Collection

 

 

Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution  Reference Collection

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology  Reference Collection

Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology   Reference Collection

Dictionary of Zoology   Reference Collection

Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology  Reference Collection

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology   Reference Collection

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology  Reference Collection

 

 

Directories

PLOS Biology  Directory of journal articles regarding all aspects of biological sciences.

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics  Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Evolution Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition  Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Mammals  Reference Collection

Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia Reference Collection

 

 

Government Resources

CDC National Office of Public Health Genomics    The Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) promotes the integration of genomics into public health research, policy, and practice in order to improve the lives and health of all people.

The National Biological Information Infrastructure  The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) is a broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources.

United States Department of Agriculture  US Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.

United States Environmental Protection Agency  The mission of the EPA is to strengthen the capacity of small communities throughout America to improve and protect the health of their people and the environment in which they live.

United States National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.

 

 

Genetics

Evolution  Presented through pbs.org, Evolution provides an opportunity to explore a multimedia  library featuring video clips and web activities.

Genetics  Publication of the Genetics Society of America.

Genetics Reference Collection

 

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Biology Databases Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of biology.

 

 

Microbiology

Microterrors : The Complete Guide to Bacterial, Viral and Fungal Infections that Threaten Our Health   Reference Collection

Parasitic Diseases  Reference Collection

World of Microbiology and Immunology   Reference Collection

 

 

Plants

Botany Illustrated   Reference Collection

Compendia of World's Medicinal Flora   Reference Collection

Herbal Vade Mecum : 800 Herbs, Spices, Essential Oils, Lipids, etc., Constituents, Properties, Uses, and Caution  Reference Collection

Plant Anatomy   Circulating Collection

Plant Classification  Circulating Collection

Plant Physiology  Circulating Collection

 

 

Professional Organizations & Societies

American Institute of Biological Sciences  Founded in 1947 as a part of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Institute of Biological Sciences is a nonprofit scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society.

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology   Founded in 1906, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization. The Society's purpose is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through publication of scientific and educational journals.

American Society of Human Genetics     Founded in 1948, the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG)  is the primary professional membership organization for human genetics specialists worldwide. The Society’s nearly 8,000 members include researchers, academicians, clinicians, laboratory practice professionals, genetic counselors, nurses and others who have a special interest in the field of human genetics.

American Society for Microbiology  The American Society for Microbiology is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world. The Society’s mission is to advance microbiological sciences through the pursuit of scientific knowledge and dissemination of the results of fundamental and applied research.

Botanical Society of America  The Botanical Society of America (BSA) is a "not-for-profit" membership society whose mission is to promote botany -- the field of basic science dealing with the study and inquiry into the form, function, development, diversity, reproduction, evolution, and uses of plants and their interactions within the biosphere.

Society for Developmental Biology  SDB is a non-profit professional society dedicated to advancement of the field of developmental biology.

by Sandy Costanza 5/09