Site Index | Contact us

Alternative Medicine Subject Guide

Alternative Therapy Chinese Medicine
Dictionaries Encylopedias
Governmental Resources

Herbal Medicine

Handbooks and Guides Journal Articles
Professional Associations  

Alternative Therapy

AcupunctureHealing  Acupuncture Healing provides information regarding basic techniques and core procedures for the average person who is interested in learning about Acupuncture.

Complementary and Alternative Therapies for Cancer Patients:  National Center for Homeopathy  The National Center for Homeopathy is an open-membership organization whose mission is to promote health through homeopathy. By providing general education to the public about homeopathy, and specific education to homeopaths, we help to make homeopathy available throughout the United States.    

Feng Shui Works  Feng Shui is based on the premise that people, places and things have energy. Every culture has their own form of Feng Shui.  The essence of Feng Shui is to create environments that foster your individual and personal goals.

International Iridology  The International Iridology Practitioners Association was founded for the purpose of increasing and diffusing knowledge concerning the art and science of Iridology and to provide a forum for the exchange of information and research with the goal of promoting excellence in international Iridology standards.

Physician’s Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements Library Reference

 

Chinese Medicine

Acupuncture.com  Their mission is to provide resources for the traditional Chinese medicine community through acupuncture, herbology, Chinese Therapies, and comparison of Western and Eastern medicine.

An Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica  Library Reference

Chinese Herbal Medicine Modern Applications of Traditional Formulas  Library Reference

Dermatology in Traditional Chinese Medicine  Library Reference

Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica SIMM Chinese Academy of Sciences SIMM's mission is to provide comprehensive solutions in drug discovery and development by combining basic and applied research and cross-fostering between chemistry and biology.

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations – Credo Reference

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary – Credo Reference

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary, Revised Edition – Credo Reference

Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine – Credo Reference

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements  Library Reference

Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine Library Reference

The Encyclopedia of Complementary and Alternative Medicine  Library Reference

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Library Reference

 

Governmental Resources

National Cancer Institute  “The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), one of eight agencies that compose the Public Health Service (PHS) in the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). The NCI, established under the National Cancer Institute Act of 1937, is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training.”

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine  “The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).”

Us Department of Health and Human ServicesThe Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.”

US Food and Drug AdministrationThe FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. The FDA is also responsible for advancing the public health by helping to speed innovations that make medicines and foods more effective, safer, and more affordable; and helping the public get the accurate, science-based information they need to use medicines and foods to improve their health.”

White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy WHCCAMP “The White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy (WHCCAMP) was established by Executive Order No. 13147 in March 2000. The order states that the Commission is to provide the President, through the Secretary of Health and Human Services, with a report containing legislative and administrative recommendations that will ensure public policy that maximizes the potential benefits of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) to all citizens.”

 

Herbal Medicine

Herb, Nutrient, and Drug Interactions: Clinical Implications and Therapeutic Strategies Library Reference

Medicinal Herbs: a Compendium Library Reference

Physician’s Desk Reference for Herbal Medicines  Library Reference

Rocky Mountain Herbal Institute The Rocky Mountain Herbal Institute comprises a small group of independent teachers, herbalists, and researchers committed to constructive action in solving personal, community, and international health care problems.

Winston & Kuhn's Herbal Therapy & Supplements : a Scientific & Traditional Approach Library Reference

 

Handbooks and Guides

Alternative Medicine: The Definitive Guide  Library Reference

CRC Handbook of Medicinal Spices Library Reference

Diagnosis in Chinese Medicine: A Comprehensive Guide Library Reference

Guide to Popular Natural Products Library Reference

Handbook of Herbs and Supplements and Their Therapeutic Uses Library Reference

Professional's Handbook of Complementary & Alternative Medicines Library Reference

The Clinician’s Handbook of Natural Medicine Library Reference

The Desktop Guide to Complementary and Alternative Medicine Library Reference

 

Journal Articles

Montante Family Library Alternative Medicine Databases Lists primary databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of alternative and complementary medicine.

 

Professional Associations

Alternative Medicine Foundation Alternative Medicine Foundation provides consumers and professionals with evidence-based information on the integration of alternative and complementary medicine.

American Academy of Medical Acupuncture  “The purpose of the American Academy of Medical Acupuncture is to promote the integration of concepts from traditional and modern forms of acupuncture with Western medical training and thereby synthesize a more comprehensive approach to health care.”

American Acupuncturist AAAOM’s Official Publication for Practitioners of Oriental MedicineThe American Acupuncturist is the official publication of the American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, published quarterly. The journal features a wide variety of academic and political articles informing and focused on the Oriental Medicine professional.”

American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine AAAOM The mission of the American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine is to “promote excellence and integrity in the professional practice of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, in order to enhance public health and well-being.”

American Herbal Products Association AHPA   Mission of the American Herbal Products Association is to promote the responsible commerce of herbal products, to maintain and improve market opportunities for companies that sell herbs, herbal products and other health-related products, and to ensure that consumers continue to enjoy informed access to a wide choice of goods.

American Holistic Medicine Association AHMA   Mission of the American Holistic Medicine Association is to advocate for the use of holistic and integrative medicine by all licensed healthcare providers.

American Massage Therapy Association  “The mission of the American Massage Therapy Association is to serve AMTA members while advancing the art, science and practice of massage therapy.”

American Music Therapy Association  AMTA “The mission of the American Music Therapy Association is to advance public awareness of the benefits of music therapy and increase access to quality music therapy services in a rapidly changing world.”

National Association for Holistic Aromatherapy Mission of the National Association for Holistic Aromatherapy is to “revive the knowledge of the medicinal use of aromatic plants and essential oils to its fullest extent and to restore aromatherapy to a truly holistic professional art and science.”