Site Index | Contact us

Accounting Subject Guide

Guides, Standards and Regulations Handbooks and General Reference
Journals / Trade Magazines Professional Organizations and General Websites


Guides, Standards and Regulations

Accounting Standards. Original PronouncementsLibrary Reference REF HF5616.U5 F537

Published by the Financial Accounting Standards Board, the 3-volume set contains Statements of Standards, Concepts Statements, Interpretations, Technical Bulletins, and FASB Staff Positions, and AICPA APB Opinions, Interpretations, and Accounting Research Bulletins.

Governmental GAAP Guide for State and Local GovernmentsLibrary Reference HJ10.2 .M54 2007

A comprehensive interpretation of all current promulgated governmental generally accepted accounting principles for state and local governments.

International  Accounting / Financial Reporting Standards GuideLibrary Reference HF5626.M55 2008

Contains the latest general and industry-specific international reporting standards and the proposed changes that will most likely alter the way in which you must account for and disclose information.

Miller GAAP Guide Level A: Restatement and Analysis of Current FASB standardsLibrary Reference HF5616.U5 M5

Analyzes authoritative GAAP literature contained in Level A of the GAAP hierarchy, including FASB Statements and Interpretations, as well as Accounting Research Bulletins. In clear language, each pronouncement is discussed in a comprehensive format that makes it easy to understand and apply. Practical illustrations and examples demonstrate and clarify specific accounting principles.

Miller GAAP Guide Levels B-D: Restatement and Analysis of Other Current FASB, EITF and AICPA PronouncementsLibrary Reference REF HF5616.U5 M525

The companion volume to Level A, analyzes literature contained in Levels B through D of the GAAP hierarchy, including FASB Technical Bulletins; AICPA Statements of Position; AICPA Industry Audit and Accounting Guides; consensus positions of the EITF, AICPA AcSEC Practice Bulletins, FASB and SEC staff announcements; FASB Implementation Guides, FASB Staff Positions, and more.

Wiley GAAP 2008: Interpretation and application of Generally Accepted Accounting PracticesLibrary Reference HF5616.U5 W55

Contains the most recent professional standards developments, in addition to detailed analysis of all generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), explaining the original, highly technical pronouncements in easy-to-understand terms and providing battle-tested, real-world examples and implementation guidance.

 

 

Handbooks & General Reference

Accounting and Auditing Disclosure ManualLibrary Reference

Auditor’s Dictionary -- Library Reference

Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms, Barron's Credo Reference 

Dictionary of AccountingCredo Reference  

Handbook of Accounting and AuditingLibrary Reference

The Penguin International Dictionary of Finance – Credo Reference 

The Ultimate Accountant’s ReferenceLibrary Reference

 

Journals / Trade Magazines

Montante Family Library Business Databases

Lists databases used to find full-text articles and article citations in the field of accounting and business.

Accountancy (London)

Accountancy is widely regarded as the chartered accountant's bible because of its quality and wide-ranging editorial coverage and its provision of up-to-date technical accounting, auditing, regulatory and tax guidance.

Accounting Review - or DYC Print Collection for archived content (2000 and earlier).

Published by the American Accounting Association, this journal publishes articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology. Published six times a year.

CPA Journal (1975) - or DYC Print Collection

Published by the New York State Society of CPAs, provides analysis, perspective, and debate on the issues that affect the CPA profession. Covers accounting, auditing, taxation, financial planning, technology, and professional ethics. The material is relevant to CPAs in public practice, industry, government and education.

Journal of Accountancy

The Journal of Accountancy is the flagship publication of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, covering a wide variety of subjects including accounting, financial reporting, auditing, taxation, financial planning, technology, business valuation, professional development, ethics, liability issues, consulting, practice management, education and related business issues.

Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance

The Journal of Accounting, Auditing and Finance is committed to publishing high quality studies in accounting and related fields. Contains original papers on accounting issues relating to developments in other fields such as finance, economics and operations.

Journal of Taxation

The journal contains articles by leading practitioners examine the challenges confronting tax lawyers and CPAs and reports significant tax developments and provides analysis explaining the relevance and importance of new legislation, court decisions and administrative rulings.

Practical Accountant

Through feature stories and case studies, Practical Accountant provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of public accounting, including practice development, tax, accounting and financial planning.

Strategic Finance (Montvale, N.J.)or DYC Print Collection

Published by the Institute of Management Accountants, contains the latest information about practices and trends in finance, accounting, and information management that will impact members (mostly controllers, CFOs, and their staffs) and their jobs.

Taxes (Chicago, Ill.)

Contains technical articles on state, federal and international taxation related to economic, legal, and accounting issues. Regular columns provide information on tax trends, technology developments, and related topics.


Professional Organizations / General Websites

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

The AICPA is the national professional organization for all CPAs. Its mission is to provide members with the resources, information, and leadership that enable them to provide valuable services in the highest professional manner to benefit the public as well as employers and clients.

Doing Business

Comprehensive website offering information on operating, starting or expanding a business in 181 countries. The site contains detailed information on regulation and taxation.

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)

FASB has been the designated organization in the private sector for establishing standards of financial accounting and reporting. They are officially recognized as authoritative by the Securities and Exchange Commission and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)

Establishes and improves standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting and educates the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports.

Institute of Internal Auditors

The IIA is an international professional association and is the internal audit profession's global voice, recognized authority, acknowledged leader, chief advocate, and principal educator. Members work in internal auditing, risk management, governance, internal control, information technology audit, education and security.

Internal Revenue Service

Official website of the IRS. Contains information on regulations, new laws, guidelines, the latest news as well as forms and instructions for maintaining tax compliance.

Sarbanes Oxley Implementation Central

This website is an excellent resource for all relevant information on the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (SOX), the public company accounting reform and investor protection act. It was passed in response to high-profile business failures, such as Enron and WorldCom, in order to reinforce investment confidence and protect investors by improving the accuracy and reliability of corporate disclosure.

TaxSites.Com

Comprehensive index of web-based tax, accounting and payroll resources.

U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission

The SEC oversees the key participants in securities, including exchanges, brokers and dealers, investment advisors, and mutual funds. The SEC is concerned primarily with promoting the disclosure of important market-related information, maintaining fair dealing and protecting against fraud.